What's new

Maverick1978

Student
Reaction score
Hey folks... I've been here for awhile, but realized a moment ago that I never introduced myself properly!

I'm relatively new to actual owning of arcade machines, but an old hand at the community in general - as a lurker, anyways.

I was a kid in the 80s, like many of you, but I lived in a rural area, and my family didn't have much in the way of extras - like allowing me quarters to feed I to every pin and arcade that I saw!

On the rare occasions that we would go out to eat, it was usually to an establishment that had an arcade machine in house. Pac-man, Mspac, 1941, these were usually what I saw - yes, I was the kid constantly scrounging the coin returns and the floors nearby the arcades, candy machines, and jukes looking for quarters! - and the pay phones were a favorite too! Although I realize that some of you younger forum members might not know what those are ;)

My golden time was in the late 1980s when arcades had all but disappeared...but we still had skating rinks! The local rink had a selection of about 10 games, and when my brother and i would go skating, we were usually given $1.50 for a slice and a drink for lunch.

Me, I drank water from the fountain and went hungry... there were games calling!! Mspac, DJ Boy, Contra, 1943, Joust, Double Dragon, and 2 pins who's names I cannot for the life of me remember... these were what I played

As I got older and working for my own money, I started collecting the consoles and games we couldn't afford when I was younger. I started feeding my vintage computer and comic addiction (other toys I enjoyed and couldn't afford growing up).

When emulation hit, I was there, installing MAME and all the standalone DOS emulators (RetroCade and RetroBabe still rule!)