What's new

meyerli

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi all

After reading some threads here it seems there is much knowledge available on this forum :)
I'm currently just thinking out loud but would like to try creating a live camera monitor for my Daytona USA 2 Twin using some emulation.

That's what the live monitor looks like (not my video, found it on Youtube):

As it's a Sega Model 3 board I would like to use the Supermodel3 emulator:
http://www.supermodel3.com (hope they release 0.3a soon)

A challenge would be the network connection as they are using fibre optic cables. The filter board also has the pins available (CN10) for a connection using a cable with 6 pins. Will need to try if system link using them works.
sega_model3_pcb_arcde_filter_board_pinout.gif

As far as I understood this is an RS-422 (https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/RS-422) connection so I hope to be able to connect an emulator.

At the moment it's all based on ideas and dreams and I'm not a technical pro. As an IT guy I will mostly go for trial & error.
I'm open to any ideas or road blocks someone sees ;)

I was a bit confused about your thread at first because the Daytona Games (or at least the first one, I'm not 100% sure on Daytona 2) support a "Live Camera" which is a CCTV setup with cameras pointed at each driver and the game can switch camera feeds to display driver's faces on an output monitor.

What you're actually talking about is the "Live Monitor" this is another Full Game PCB node on the network chain, linked up the same way as the other networked nodes except set to "Satellite" instead of master/slave/etc (this name might be different depending on the game).

If you're running SuperModel for all nodes on the network you should be able to just set the node you want to Satellite. If you're running real hardware you will need to source another Model 3 PCB with the Rom and Communication PCBs to add to the chain.