What's new

Strider999

Student
Reaction score
Hey all, Im working on a supergun design that uses a teensy 4.1 microcontroller. I want the button presses to come from the teensy but the pins are not 5v tolerant. Would using a level shifter, transistor or an optocoupler make the most sense? Or something else entirely?

I'm no expert, but when you're simulating button presses, I think all you're doing is tying a pin to ground. I don't think you'd ever put voltage through it.

You'll have to protect the teensy if it can't handle 5v.
Inputs on JAMMA boards are active low. This means that they're pulled high from the board side. This is usually accomplished with a resistor array as a pull up, so the voltage will be close to 5V.
When you press a button, the input is grounded so this is what you have to accomplish.
There are level shifters that are also buffer drivers so they can easily sink the current from the board. I think TI has what you want... From memory, you can accomplish this with the 74lv16(something)245. Input a low from the teensy and the IC will pull down the JAMMA input, simulating a press.

If you're trying to increase output voltage then you use a boost or step-up converter. If you're trying to reduce voltage you'd use resistors or pots.

A button press is just applying or disconnecting voltage (I.e. closing or opening a circuit). One of the easiest ways to do this is with relays (preferably solid state for gaming) or a mosfet.

Instead of having a button closing the circuit by tying a pin to ground, install the relay instead. Then use the Teensy to trigger the relay.

If the voltage from the Teensy is insufficient to trigger the relay, use a boost converter or an USB powered relay. I used this booster to increase the output voltage from my Guncon 2 from 3.3v to 5v for my recoil circuit:

WIN-20210419-12-09-39-Pro.jpg

I don't know what your project is but using a different device (I.e. one that can handle the right voltage) may end up being cheaper.