What's new

Jangelj

Beginner
Reaction score
Hi, I’m new to owning an arcade machine. I just got a Golden Tee 2k. I have been reading quite a bit, and will continue to, but thought I’d post here for some guidance.
When I power it up, the monitor turns on but only displays a black and white pattern. There is no sound at all from the speakers. The board has yellow light flashing and green light has a quick flash every 3 seconds. Every time the green light flashes, there is a slight hiccup in the buzzy sound coming from the back of the monitor.

First thing I plan on doing is check power supply, once I get my voltmeter back tomorrow. Any other thoughts? I’ll attach a pic of the monitor
Thanks for any help,
John

Attachments

• 3CC9776A-D0B5-4882-97F1-64E12EADE0BA.jpeg
    3CC9776A-D0B5-4882-97F1-64E12EADE0BA.jpeg
    39.5 KB · Views: 196
I borrowed a multimeter and checked the voltage at the Janna connector. It was reading high, 5.46v. I turned it down to 5.1 and 12.2, but the symptoms are the same. Flashing yellow and mostly solid green.
Should green be flashing like the yellow?

5.46 is enough to kill most PCBs.

Hopefully someone can chime in with what the lights *should* be doing.

Thanks. I’ll see how much a PCB is.
Would a fried PCB cause the monitor to look like that?

I pulled out my golden tee 2k to check for you.

4.98v is plenty to run it. Yellow sound status led and green video status led should both be constantly be flashing and it will boot right away.

I bought this board broken and had to do some reflow on the cpu and ram chips on the top right of the board as well as it having several cut traces on the bottom of the board.

Because the pins for the processor are very fine pitch, I dont recommend trying to reflow them or any parts athe the beginning at all and rule these steps out until very last.

First, (easiest)