What's new

Jimd0585

Beginner
Reaction score
Hi all. I’m new to arcades. I bought a super gun on AliExpress. Yes I know some people say they are junk, but I have their NeoGeo box and it works great. So I took the plunge, bought their Jamma Cbox and a CPS 2 A and B board set.

I have the super gun connected via component to a Retrotink which converts it to HD, then to a scan line generator and into my HD tv. It works fine, Sound and controls work. I even got the kick harness working. However, occasionally my tv will lose a signal for a few seconds. When the picture and sound comes back the game is still going. So the board isn’t resetting.

Is this a board issue? A Cbox issue? A power issue? Any idea what the culprit may be?

I’ll add that I removed the retotink and plugged component directly into the tv. The picture looks terrible, but I didn’t notice any loss of picture unless I moved the dials on the Cbox adjusting the picture. Is it there isn’t enough voltage running to the CPS2 and into the tink?

Thanks,

Jim

Since you dont have a problem without the Retrotink,

1. Is the tink getting enough power?
2. The tink's power plug plugged in properly?
3. Have you tested the tink with other boards?

I don’t have other boards to try sadly, this is my first.

So with the Retrotink plugged in the picture looks better, but every minute or so goes blank for about 2 seconds. Voltage turned all the way up on the Cbox reads 5.19v

With the Cbox plugged in via component directly to the tv, the picture doesn’t look as good but the screen doesn’t go black as often. Maybe every 2 minutes. Voltage turned up max on the Cbox reads 5.21V

I’m still hearing sound so I don’t think it’s necessarily the Cbox (which is brand new). I’m going to get some alcohol cleaner and clean the contacts on the CPS2 board when I can. It is old. I got it used but got a good deal on it. I don’t think it’s the CPS2 board though.

Thoughts?

these games want 5v not 5.2v, so you can dial that back down.