What's new

vidarw

Beginner
Reaction score
Hi,
Got hold of an old Danish produced arcade cabinet today with a 4 slot NeoGeo.
All the labels indicate that its produced or at least fully serviced in Jan 1993.
Cabinet is in a Good+ state and CRT works but it's age is shown through massive amounts of dust.

One thing that is way off is the tuning of the CRT.
The horizontal image is too wide and the horizontal position has been pushed all the way to the left to compensate.
I do however have NO idea how to correctly adjust the horizontal size and as a complete beginner on CRTs I'm super afraid to ruin anything.

If you take a look at the linked control board picture, could you please tell me how to adjust the H SIZE parameter?
Is the orange coil the one to adjust? - Seems kind of fragile.

Anyone recognize the board/monitor?

Are there any good FAQs somewhere that explain the other parameters, i.e H/V-HOLD?

Any tips on cleaning is also appreciated (ie. what do do and definitely not do).

Control board:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4imyyCr0mbSY1JiaTBaSk1CdktNbDlhQWhZbThfd3htXzNF

Back of CRT:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4imyyCr0mbSaWdTMjNxQUdnd0twbWo5c3FnNEhnVjZuaDZB

H POS will move the image left and right.
H SIZE will make the image wide or narrow horizontally. You’ll probably have to tweak both of those slightly every time you change systems (if you ever take out the neo geo)

You won’t break anything by turning those, give it a shot.

H V hold are there to help you lock onto a board’s sync signal. If you ever plug in a pcb and the image rolls in a given direction, tweaking those potentiometers might help to lock it stable.

Apart from horizontal size everything else is a pot. You can't really do any mistakes with those.