What's new

davelrogers

Beginner
Reaction score
Hello friends,

New to the forum, and wanted to say hello. I’ve been into the RetroPie type modding systems for years now, but with my kids getting to an age where they are super into video games, particularly my 7 & 9 year old sons, I wanted to step it up a bit, and show them that nothing’s worth doing if you don’t do it right.

I’ve got a little wood working shop and build a 4 player cabinet for us, but wanted to fit it with something legit, rather than popping a PB6 into it (or even a Pandora Games 3D which looks like it has a more powerful PCB than the other Pandora’s.)

I don’t have problems writing a cabinet, and can do a little coding when needed (is C++ still a thing?), but will be looking for advice on a good multi game Jamma set up, including the motherboard/PC and game sets.

I might be yelling into the wind here, and that’s ok, but if anyone does happen to read this and is inclined to assist at all, I’m an appreciative newbie.

There are a few things in really interested in for my first cabinet build (it’s currently just wood and plexi:

- 4 player capability for my 4 player cab.
- Would love to have a stable build running for NBA Jams/Hangtime , the NHL arcade game, and NFL Blitz if possible.
- Fighting games to, but that looks rather standard on all setups.
- Outside of the 4 player sports games, I value stability and a clean UI much more than having access to unlimited games.
- I’ve been leaning towards a Jamma setup with a conversion kit for any non Jamma or pre Jamma boards.

appreciative of any and all advice, and will be happy to share and knowledge I am able to acquire once I’m dangerous enough to help.

thanks-Dave

Welcome Dave.
While you most likely won't find much to help you about Pandora's Boxes or Raspberry pi setups here, you sure will find a lot of detail on arcade connectivity.
This is a decent, generally drama-free environment.