What's new

Triple3fast

Beginner
Reaction score
Hi all. I'm hooking up a 8200 CGA/VGA converter to my Blast City with my Sanwa 29E31S. Where's a good place to tap in to 5+ volts to power the 8200 unit? I'm new to the candy cabinets and these IO boards are a tad confusing compared to a switching power supply :)

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

Last edited:
I have the JVS power connectors. There are no 5v ports open unfortunately at CN3 but there are few 3.3v open. The 8200 says 5v-12v. I'm thinking I could splice the cable into two 3.3v slots.

Thanks for replying.

Feeding it 3.3v twice doesn't give you 6.6v :)

Also I'd advise feeding it 5v, even though it does accept higher voltages, I've read they develop more image quality issues with voltages above 5v.

Feeding it 3.3v twice doesn't give you 6.6v :)

Also I'd advise feeding it 5v, even though it does accept higher voltages, I've read they develop more image quality issues with voltages above 5v.
Well I was thinking two wires from each 3.3v slot then spliced into the inverter. OK well scratch that.

Besides a jamma passthrough any other option to grab the 5v? It doesn't have to be the easiest way :)

Pretty sure the GBS only pulls about 1A at most at 5V. You could probably pick up a super cheap boost converter and run it off of the 3.3v. Or, if you have 12V available, use a buck converter. Get a buck/boost converter for the best of both worlds.

However, I am 100% sure that JVS power standards require 3.3V, 5V, and 12V to be present so buck or boost converters should not be necessary at all.

Pretty sure the GBS only pulls about 1A at most at 5V. You could probably pick up a super cheap boost converter and run it off of the 3.3v. Or, if you have 12V available, use a buck converter. Get a buck/boost converter for the best of both worlds.

However, I am 100% sure that JVS power standards require 3.3V, 5V, and 12V to be present so buck or boost converters should not be necessary at all.