What's new

ItsACerealWow

Student
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a complete beginner when it comes to arcade PCBs and superguns, but not to retrogaming in general (I understand concepts like sync, voltage levels, etc. in regards to retrogaming setups). I recently acquired my first supergun, the HAS, back in February.

I have a lot of questions and confusion when it comes to connecting a Mortal Kombat 1 arcade PCB to a HAS into a CRT or PVM ?(

Here's my setup for reference-
HAS Supergun
+MWP606 power supply
+8pin mini din to RGB SCART cable
+(optional) HAS JAMMA extension cable
+(optional) Sega Saturn controller adapters, undamned USB controller adapters

32" Sony WEGA Trinitron KV32FS100
+accepts Component (YPbPr), S-video, composite and RF video
+8:2 gcompsw switch between consoles and television
+I use a Shinybow SCART->Component and a RetroTINK SCART->Component converter for the HAS and Dreamcast

13" Sony Trinitron PVM-1353MD
+accepts pretty much anything you can throw at it - RGBs, RGBHV, Component, S-Video, Composite, etc.
+I use Line 1 for Component, running from the second output of the gcomp
+I use Line 2 for RGBs, which I connect using RGC's SCART to BNC cables and a simple phono adapter for audio

(All video cables running between equipment are high-quality, shielded cables)

I recently picked up a working Midway Y-Unit Mortal Kombat 1 PCB and sound board, along with the proper cables to connect it to the sound board and a kick harness. The only thing I'm still missing is a Volume Pot, so I will be leaving the sound board disconnected during any testing until I pick one up.

What do I need to know before I get started? I've heard that MK1 Y-Unit PCBs have compatibility issues with some displays due to a very low sync rate. I've also heard something about it needing -5v for the audio processing?