What's new

VWI

Student
Reaction score
Hello y'all this is Daniel Du Vall (VWI (VW Insanity) I am new to the retro arcade scene and glad to have found this forum. I have Many questions and will try and swim through all the forums first before asking too many of them.

Since I am new to this I figured I would start by looking for a SuperGun I have found a few but then found the ultimate one that is listed in the forums here by a gentleman from china I think. Should I just start with that or is there one that y'all recommend for starters like me.

Well look forward to interacting with y'all type at you soon.

Daniel Du Vall
:D

Howdy!

It's been many years since I owned a Supergun, so I'll let others chime in. I used to have a MAS one with the huge sticks.

A behemoth!

Others during that time frame were PANAs and SIGMAs but there are better options now.

Reactions: VWI
Welcome,

Generally speaking, there are 3 Superguns that the forum recommends, all with direct support from their creators in the linked threads:

1. The Minigun: Feature packed and open source DIY, meaning you'll have to have the skills to put it together yourself or find someone who can. Units do pop up on eBay, just make sure they're built well: Minigun Supergun - An Open Source Supergun

2. HAS (Home Arcade System): Very highly regarded by the community with lots of support. There's a waitlist on orders, so you'll have to be slightly patient: Home Arcade System

3. Axun Workshop Supergun: Very well built, all in one device with all the frills. Benefit of this is that everything is internalised, including the PSU and IO. It also features the ability to play not only JAMMA games, but JVS. The price is heavier, but the reviews for this newcomer to the scene have been stellar: Axun Workshop - JVS / JAMMA Control-Box(CBOX) SuperGun

Either one is a good choice. They all perform well, I suggest reading the threads and seeing what tickles your fancy and going on from there.

Hope that helps.