What's new

Cookie

Professional
Reaction score
I've got a Type X 2 that has an issue. I'll write the chain of events below.

- Type X 2 arrives in working order, bit dirty inside. I remove the cpu heatsink to check thermal grease, it's solid.. I built pc's/server for 15 years for a living so i have some experience in this space, and I know these old P4 chips ran pretty hot. I decide i'll take it apart, give it a clean and redo the thermal grease.
- I disassemble the whole TTX2 system and give it a clean. It's not too dirty, no bulging caps at all, even inside the PSU. I give it a light dusting, case a wipedown and put it back toghether... taking extra care, i even wore the ground strap whilst doing this...

- ISSUE STARTS HERE... After i put it all back together and turn it on, it does this. POWER ON for 1 second, fans all spin up, POWER OFF. It just repeats this process. Power on, fans spin up, then power off. I remove the video card, the ram, the IO to see if it makes any difference NO difference. Can't make it change behaviour regardless of what's plugged in.
- Try another ATX PSU to make sure it's not that. Brand new ATX psu does exactly the same thing... hmmm.

OK, so i took the whole system apart and stuffed around for a few hours, using all my years of big brain hair pulling, frustrating troubleshooting experience... i've come up with this.