What's new

Simon

Student
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I have a 12V LED on off switch I bought off amazon that I would like to use as a power button for my SmallCab Supergun Deluxe V2.1. The Supergun has a dipswitch that enables the "WOPWR" circuit, two connections that when closed turns the power on. I think that's simple enough to hook up a regular switch, but I'm having trouble figuring out how to wire the LED portion of this switch.

I have no idea how to measure the output of WOPWR in a safe way to see the voltage or amperage that it's giving. I also have no idea how to tell if one side is ground or not haha. I'm new to all this electronics stuff.

So anyway, the switch has NC, NO, C, and +, - connections. I am using an ATX power supply, so if I need to I can get 12V from there. I just want to be able to connect this switch in a safe way without killing my supergun! :)

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.

Post the exact switch brand/model number so we can look up datasheet. or post a link to the datasheet.

Normaly these switches do not have a built in resistor for the leb so you can burn it out if powered directly.

Also, details about your supergun/link/pics would be nice to see exactly what you got

But it should not be difficult to hep wire it up, the more info you give the easier it will be to help you out.

If WOPWR is used as a power switch for the ATX power supply, then it's likely that one side of the connection is wired to ATX Pin 16 and the other side would be GND.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ATX

You can verify this with a multimeter to check that one of the screw-terminals goes to Pin 16 on the ATX connector, and the other is connected to ground.

You would wire one of your NO switch terminals to one of the WOPWR screw terminals, and the C switch terminal to the other WOPWR screw terminal, then when you press the button, the switch connection is closed and Pin 16 of the ATX connector is shorted to ground, and your ATX power supply would start.