What's new

slevin

Student
Reaction score
I've been an amateur car enthusiasts and motorcyclists for years and have run into problems with phillips head screws over and over in my time messing with cars and motorcycles. Mostly with the latter, especially while trying to disassemble older motorcycles and their carburetors. This old motorcycle mechanic that helped my brother work on his Honda VRF400 about 7 years ago told me about this and I've bought 3 sets for various things I work on. You'll never bugger up a screw again, especially on something Japanese.

Basically Japanese phillips heads are JIS spec, (Japanese industrial standard). Which pretty much means almost every single phillips screwdriver you buy in the states never quite gives 100% grip to the inside of the X part of the screw. You buy a set of JIS screwdrivers and you'll use that same set for the rest of your life on anything Asian/Japanese with phillips heads on it.

The brand I've been using is Vessel. Amazon has this set available. I'd highly recommend it. Even on my Blast City I was disassembling yesterday there were screws that were super tight and showed signs of camout already, but as long as I had good pressure on them they came right out without stripping the heads. (I cringed when I was watching the 45 minute youtube video of someone disassembling a Blast City, even more when he had to bust out EZ outs and drill the screws out)

https://www.amazon.com/VESSEL-MEGAD...t=&hvlocphy=9031103&hvtargid=pla-904934265824

Last edited:
I watched that same video slevin. Also recently just got a blast and heavily relied on that video to get a sense for how to fully dismantle it before delivery. It was super helpful to be intimately familiar with the process ahead of time, but I really felt the same way when he didn't use the proper driver for the fastener (and insisted on using the power tools instead of good ole-fashioned elbow grease).