What's new

blonu

Student
Reaction score
I recently acquired my first Neo Geo MVS 1 Slot board. I have no experience with Neo Geo, but when i looked at the board, i saw that the battery has leaked and eaten up 3 components completely. The first one, i believe is an osciallator,, the second one looks like a tantalum cap and the third component only has legs remaining.

If someone can help identify these, i can try ordering them from digikey and see if the board will atleast show the cross hatch pattern.

I plan on taking the battery out along with the register that charges it, to replace with a CR 2032 battery holder and planning on socketing the 8X2 chips in socket as there seems to be considerable battery leak damage to the legs.

I traced a bunch of traces that look like were worn out, but i do get connectivity on majority on them but it seems some of them would need to be rebuilt.

Any help will be greatly appreciated regarding suitable replacement components.

There is also quite a bit of trace damage in that area - it may be worth keeping that one for parts and trying to find a non damaged board.

Thanks @avramce for the pictures. So that looks like the 22pf cap that was completely gone on mine. Is it correct that these are ceramic caps and not tantalum? Going to order the parts (20pf, 22pf and crystal) from Digi-Key and socket most of the chips. @xodaraP I’ve not got any other projects in the pipeline so it would be interesting to see if it can be brought back to life otherwise parts is an option. I like the look of this board compared to the other 1 slot variants so will see how it goes.

Removed a bunch of components around the battery to investigate the damage https://imgur.com/a/cGcZa1O

Next is identifying all the damaged traces and repairing them. Anyone knows whether 20pf and 22pf caps are ceramic or tantalum?