What's new

nekojeeta

Student
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a novice at fixing boards... I have two ST-V motherboards that won't load games (black screen). One board will let me get into the test screen and seems to get a video signal per my OSSC, but the other board can't get into the test screen and doesn't get any video signal.

I'm wanting to discharge the capacitors as a starting point, but I was a little confused on the best way to do this:
- Do I need to desolder each capacitor and remove it from the board to discharge it?
- To discharge can I just take a screwdriver or pliers and touch both contacts at the same time or do I actually need to figure out the ohms and create a high wattage resistor tool to discharge?

Thanks!

Bridging both legs with a screwdriver is more than enough, no need to desolder.

Hello,

I'm a novice at fixing boards... I have two ST-V motherboards that won't load games (black screen). One board will let me get into the test screen and seems to get a video signal per my OSSC, but the other board can't get into the test screen and doesn't get any video signal.

I'm wanting to discharge the capacitors as a starting point, but I was a little confused on the best way to do this:
- Do I need to desolder each capacitor and remove it from the board to discharge it?
- To discharge can I just take a screwdriver or pliers and touch both contacts at the same time or do I actually need to figure out the ohms and create a high wattage resistor tool to discharge?

Thanks!