What's new

freddiefiasco

Professional
Reaction score
There doesn't seem to be a lot of information on the NAMCO N2 System. I have a non operational NAMCO N2 that contains WMMT3 on the hard drive. Would it be possible for me to use something like HDD Raw Copy Image Tool to create a raw image of my original hard drive?

I have had some experiences in the past where removing a hard drive from the original PC and plugging it in to a different PC causes the drive to suicide.

From what I gather, the USB game dongle that comes with the N2 system is locked to the hard drives serial number so I don't expect to use a different hard drive at all to clone the drive. I just merely want to see if it can be saved to a raw image to restore to the same drive at a later time.

from what i have read you shouldn't have any issue cloning the drive to itself.
But i would use something like dd on linux to do your back-up as i believe it has raw data out side the file system

also here is a link to some good info about the n2 system
https://medium.com/@dropkickshell/system-n2-exposed-5395436c824d#.ymz3cchxo
Nice thanks! I was actually reading this not more than a few minutes ago and it seems pretty interesting. I have only used dd a couple times in the past. Does Raw Copy Tool leave out some things that dd can pick up?

Does Raw Copy Tool leave out some things that dd can pick up?
not sure i just dont trust windows wont get involved and screw it up. also windows auto mounts drives and writes a little bit to it when it does.
where as Linux doesn't mount anything until you tell it and you can mount read only so it will never write to the disk.

not sure i just dont trust windows wont get involved and screw it up. also windows auto mounts drives and writes a little bit to it when it does.where as Linux doesn't mount anything until you tell it and you can mount read only so it will never write to the disk.
fun fact, in order to make an NTFS read-only, Windows has to WRITE to the disk ...