What's new
Are you saying that I need those huge multicart things (I have no idea what those are, since I am very new to all this arcade stuff) in order to play the games that I want?
Yes. You could instead go with individual boards, but they'll take up even more room.

And that I need multiple different ones?
Yes. Much like you'd need a different Everdrive for each of your consoles. Except each multi (with the exception of the MVS one) only nets you 20ish games instead of 500+ you'd get on a console flashcart.

That sounds like it would be taking up tons of room.
It does. Your average game is somewhere around 12"x8"x1.5". Some much bigger, some much smaller. They need to be stored vertically and preferably in ESD safe packing/bags/boxes.

I may just not be understanding this correctly but is it really not possible to somehow just have all my arcade games on an SD card and launch them from some type of SD drive that is hooked up to the HAS?
the Goat is pretty spot on here. A supergun is a device to play legitimate arcade PCB's on a normal TV setup. If you're concerned with space, or want to play games off of an SD card or something anyway, just setup a MAME PC. It will be much more along the lines of what you seem to be after.

I wouldn't need the full boards for each game, would I?
I missed this one before. Yes, you would.

The only thing the HAS does is take the video/audio/controls from the PCB and send them to your TV, speakers, and controller. Nothing more.

Or you can use the HAS with this toy :)
But that really just makes things unnecessarily convoluted. That's a PC designed to go in a cab.
Why take that out of a cab and throw a HAS on it rather than just use a PC to begin with? :P
I'm sorry for misunderstanding, since from what i've read i don't know if he like the arcade boards releases because they are quite large.

I don't think you want a supergun. You would be better served with a MAME setup running on a PC or raspberry Pi.