What's new
I received this PDF from GroovyGameGear about the TurboTwist 2 for arcade1up cabinets
I am no expert but I am curious if this would work for using it with an actual arcade board
Need some experts to way in on this

Attachments

• TT2 DAR.pdf
    330.4 KB · Views: 445
Last edited:
Reactions: nem
I received this PDF from GroovyGameGear about the TurboTwist 2 for arcade1up cabinets
I am no expert but I am curious if this would work for using it with an actual arcade board
Need some experts to way in on this
It looks like these are only for the arcade1up cabinets, it will not work with a real arcade PCB

It looks like these are only for the arcade1up cabinets, it will not work with a real arcade PCB
Why wouldn't the raw output work with a real arcade PCB?

Why wouldn't the raw output work with a real arcade PCB?
That manual leaves a bit to be desired. The J2 PCB at the bottom, how does that interface to the actual spinner.

But it looks like you are right, board is powered with 5V then the raw outputs should be 5V as well :D

The product description page and that pdf don't really describe exactly how the product works.

The pdf explains the spinner output pulse signalling is UART (not compatible with any original arcade hardware), but also implies it has future support for RAW X1/X2 signaling (this is what arcade games used), but doesn't explain if the pulse rate of these signals is adjustable (probably not, because raw implies it comes directly from the photo sensors)

I ordered a Turbo Twist 2 from Groovy Game Gear and I have it running with my original Arkanoid board
Randy was fantastic to deal with.
I used the Dial-A-Rez setting to adjust the spinner (4 and 3/4 revolutions seemed to work great for Arkanoid)

I ordered a Turbo Twist 2 from Groovy Game Gear and I have it running with my original Arkanoid board
Randy was fantastic to deal with.
I used the Dial-A-Rez setting to adjust the spinner (4 and 3/4 revolutions seemed to work great for Arkanoid)