What's new

ShootTheCore

Legendary
Reaction score
Some folks have expressed interest in seeing a short writeup on the arcade repairs and console repairs / mods that I do in my spare time, so I'll post a little Repair Diary here when I do one.
Some quick notes:

1) I don't do this kind of work for hire - only for myself and one or two friends.
2) I'm all self-taught based off of what I learn from blogs, forums, YouTube videos, and the advice of some friends that do electronics rework professionally.
3) I'm leaving out details of the HOURS of continuity testing, logic testing, Googling, forum posts, etc that it takes to diagnose these boards.

OK, with that said, here's Repair Diary #1. I purchased this Forgotten Worlds conversion board with a background problem - the character sprites would appear, but the background would only display scrolling vertical lines.
IMG_3369.JPG

The culprit was the PAL chip at location 1A on the secondary B Board - this chip "engages" the background ROM chips. It was burning hot to the touch after the board had been left on for a moment, so it was the obvious culprit. I replaced the chip with a programmable GAL chip using the data from the equivalent MAME ROM set, and all was well.
IMG_3370.JPG
IMG_3359.JPG

Great review! Keep'em coming!

One question, how did you troubleshoot the PCBs normally? Can you shed some light, like i.e.

1) Visual examination looking for missing chips or scratches
2) thermal test touching chips and checking with cooling spray any improvements
3a) If black screen, check CLK, RST, Address bus, etc.
3b) If specific problem check schematics for source of background chip, etc.

Once again thumbs up :thumbup:

CPS1 system is notorious for failures on two IC's : CPS-A-01 and CPS-B-21 (depending on the game).
These IC's had a high failure rate, especially CPS-A-01, so you should consider yourself a lucky guy !
The PAL@1A selects all ROM's (tiles & sprites) inteleaved , and it is possibble that only one output to one