What's new
Status
Not open for further replies.
Razoola over on neo-geo.com mentioned games with extra hardware on the boards (ram) and encryption - and questioned how these were going to be handled.

I think it's a reasonable question - any thoughts, Darksoft?
Are you referring to the NG-DEV games? If so they're not supported.

He was also worried about 'Knichts chance', maybe also his own Crossed Swords II mod.

Razoola over on neo-geo.com mentioned games with extra hardware on the boards (ram) and encryption - and questioned how these were going to be handled.

Are you referring to the NG-DEV games? If so they're not supported.
Not just NG-DEV games. Neo carts in '99 and onward started being encrypted. Its been a while, but there was a fairly decent roadblock to getting legit KOF '99, '00, and Garou roms back then.

That said, there are decrypted ROM sets so that shouldn't be too much of an issue.

While I'm not a total expert on what carts have what hardware, I'm reasonably sure that there are other carts outside of NG-DEV games that use special chips not found on other carts.

games with extra hardware on the boards (ram) and encryption - how these were going to be handled.

We are still in design stage yet, I may add extra ram but will definitely not mix in adding encryption device so it will most probably be patched versions.

I will say that when I mentioned that it would play all "original roms" at Neo what I should have said was all "original games". Some roms will need to be patched to work. And there is a possibility that some games will not be available when the cart first comes out but they should be shortly afterwards. Majority will work immediately.

Just to clear things up since Raz felt like splitting hairs over there. Not that I need to answer to him.

I may add extra ram but will definitely not mix in adding encryption device so it will most probably be patched versions
Could a more powerful FPGA version run the emulated encryption code?