What's new
I'm a gamer not a tech head.

Metal Slug X works!

Why it's so important that it passes a CRC check, can anyone tell me:-

What do the numbers mean?
Whats the difference in a pass and non pass game wise?
Who's in charge of the unibios CRC check?
Whats does it check?
The big one is can it be faked to pass CRC?

Now the Multicart is out is there a need for a Unibios ? ( apart from checking CRC )
AFAIK:
CRC is a checksum of all the gamedata as it is seen by the PCB. If it passes it means it is bit by bit the same as the original cart.
Unibios was made by Razoola

And if all you want is a working game your bar is pretty low. :) I mean you could just get a RaspPI, install Retropie and have a perfect Neo Geo emulation with all the games working.

I guess that he means working game in the original hardware which is a HUGE difference as compared to emulators or similar pc-based arcade.

The CRC check failing means it's not an original dump of the ROM (because it's had the protection patched out)

Some people (and yes I put myself in this camp) want 100% original operation, I love my CPS2 multi and play it a lot, but still keep original boards running on batteries for a couple of my favourite games - which was then made a moot point when Darksoft released the key writing firmware

I've also desuicided a few games using batteries to keep them original (2 Captain Commando CPS1, Warriors of Fate CPS1.5, several CPS2 boards)

So for the same reason as that, people want the CRC check to pass for all games on the Neo multi, including those with special protection chips.

It's not going to affect operation and as far as I'm aware much the same as CPS2 the patched version doesn't affect anything in game, but it's not original.

99% of people don't/won't care, but there are those of us that do :P

I guess that he means working game in the original hardware which is a HUGE difference as compared to emulators or similar pc-based arcade.