What's new

RealMFnG

Legendary
Reaction score
post some pics of your 'dark' conversion process please :thumbup:
By request of the forum owner, here is my project log for my Major Title 2 conversion to R-Type Leo. I am still a newbie at all of this stuff so I have written this up so that someone with my experience level or lower can follow along and perform this themselves.

This effort consists of two phases which I shall discuss over two posts:
  1. Rom board jumper re-configuration (surgery/soldering is required)
  2. Rom burning/swapping
Stuff you will need for the first part is listed here:

• Major Title 2 Irem M92 board
  • 3x jumper caps (.100"/2.54mm spacing)
    • Optional 2x jumper caps needed for running unencrypted sound roms
  • 3x Pin headers, 3 positions each (.100"/2.54mm spacing)
    • Optional 2x Pin headers w/3 positions needed for running the unencrypted sound roms
  • A good soldering iron with spade/flat tip
  • A solder pump
  • Needle nose tweezers
  • Flux
  • Solder
  • Cotton swabs
  • Isopropyl alcohol
  • A little tape
  • Minor soldering skills or some testicular fortitude

There are three jumpers that you need to reconfigure on your Major Title 2 board to prepare for the conversion to R-Type Leo. These jumpers are:
  1. J8
  2. J15
  3. J16
Optional:
Recent efforts have decrypted the sound roms for R-Type Leo. If you choose to run the unencrypted sound rom set, you must also reconfigure the jumper settings at:
  • J1
  • J6
The advantage of running the unencrypted sound rom set will be explained in the next post. Below is a screen a shot of where they are situated on the rom board. The J1 and J6 jumpers needed to run the unencrypted sound roms are boxed in purple:

WireBridgeOG_SVGA.JPG