What's new

deibit

Champion
Reaction score
I'm getting a Japanese 256 with some dongles, DVDs and HDD (Gundan vs Gundam Next), I'm quite new to this platform, I tried to find an answer through google, but there's no conclusive answer..

My question is.. Considering that I have the right dongle, would it be possible to clone the HDDs (and the DVD's?) and flash them to a SSD/CF-IDE? (I don't like spinnig media) :)

Yes.

Just DD the game to a CF card and you'll be set.
although
many CF cards are slower than hdd when it comes to actual throughput. GvGN is a little slower to load even on a pretty fast card from my testing.

Currently testing a few other alternate non-spinning disk solutions however.

Nice!!

Any IDE-CF would work?

Would that also work with the DVD games? (DVD image to CF)

A better solution would be a huge 1TB hard disk, with a nice menu to select the games, and then insert each dongle manually, or maybe even dongle-less ;)

The dongle is not my concern thought. What I want to avoid is having to switch DVDs or even worse to have to remove the DVD-Player to Install the HDD...

For hd games, there's absolutely no protection, so yes, any ide storage device SHOULD work- I've had luck with it.

DVD/CD games work very differently so you'd need an actual optical drive emulator.

The unified HDD solution would be nice, but won't happen without recoding the games themselves as there are a number of different ways of accessing the drives- some seem to leverage existing partition formats, others use their own, but none are simply "directories of files" as things like the TypeX and similar do.

I'm working on a combined 5.25" solution for storage (card reader and slimline optical)- with a switch for device switching (there's no slave device support) and an additional switch for the internal 246+/256 jumper in the 256.