What's new

Darksoft

Staff member
Immortal
Reaction score
I have a project idea in mind, which is porting Lindbergh games to another platform. For that we need a REAL EXPERT in Linux as this is a very complex project. Is there anyone there with that knowledge? Do you know of someone that could help for a price?

Please post your thoughts here.

Thanks!

I was a linux admin and redhat certified for a while. Not much of a dev though. If you think I can help, ping me. I still work with a few hundred very skilled linux folks.

Just brainstorming here but my 1st (probably soon to be crushed) theory is docker containers prebuilt with the right distro and kernel. Not really a port but might make the game able to be run in modern distros.

Basically the goal is to run Any of the Lindbergh games in another computer like i.e. any off the shelf PC or even better a TX2 which is commonly available and has a reasonable price.

Problem is that the kernel of the Lindbergh is compiled and we don't have the sources for i.e. the Baseboard (JVS that goes inside the Lindbergh).

So the first step would be to get that Montavista running in i.e. a TX2 without JVS driver and then get that Baseboard driver out of the kernel and put it somehow again in the newly generated kernel for the TX2. I say TX2 because most of them have a common configuration.

I'm not sure about calls to the graphic card, but if games call the graphic card in a neutral way, it would accept another graphic card as soon as the kernel supports it. Worst case, it would require to modify the game executable in order to call the new graphic card in the way it's needed.

Why all the hassle? Because Lindberghs are getting harder to get and tend to fail A LOT compared to a TX2 or a ringedge,etc. so we want to make sure we can play them further on a newer platform.