What's new
Hey @Apocalypse , do you have a link to a 12mhz crystal that we can try? Looks like the one in the first post is not the one to get.
Why not just use a programmable crystal oscillator from Digikey? They will program whatever speed you want for a small fee
I honestly don't know why not...*shrug*... never even heard of this before. tbh, I'm still an electronics novice, I can solder through-hole components and crimp/wire all types of cable configurations, but that's pretty much the extent of my knowledge. I'm an artist first and foremost, so i'm good with my hands, but the technical stuff isn't my forte at all. This is why I rely on forums like this to find information from the smarter guys.

Hey @Apocalypse , do you have a link to a 12mhz crystal that we can try? Looks like the one in the first post is not the one to get.
I don't know, I just use what I have in my parts stock.
Would you happen to have a couple spares you can sell me?

what's not good with that one?
I haven't read anyone confirming that this one has worked out for them. Actually, I can't find any posts here that have anyone order a new crystal and have successful results. Which is why I'm asking if there is a confirmed working crystal that i can buy online, without having to salvage it from another board.

I guess like Apocalypse said, it’ll come down to trail and error. I’ll give this one a shot.

Bah, that listing doesn’t ship to the States. :(
Never mind, I’m an idiot.

Any oscillator 12MHz 14-PIN DIL will do the job.Like this for example:

https://www.ebay.it/itm/12Mhz-Cryst...736962?hash=item1a269965c2:g:aLYAAOSwMNxXXYLV

P.S.
Don't get confused, 14-PIN DIL is the industry-standard metal package and doesn't indicate the number of pins!Four are the pins but they are numbered 1-7-8-14:

Pin 1 no connection. Identified by dot or square corner on can
Pin 7 Gnd. Also connected to metal can
Pin 8 TLL/HCMOS clock output
Pin 14 V+ supply

Last edited: