What's new
Assuming your Donor board is a Quiz Ma-Q on a short ROM board.
https://zenmarket.jp/auction.aspx?itemCode=k339100907
This is the one I got
Ya I haven't got a desoldering gun yet. I will have to find someone who can do it since your busy atm to do it. Thank you for info.
Get a hakko desoldering gun, you will never look back and it will pay for itself in repairs in no time at all.
It also has great heat and can do things like re-attaching IREM heatsinks that most irons can't do.

Knuckle heads please .
It's done just needs testing!
Keep getting sidetracked with other things... Next day or 2 can get it tested.

The schematic is done, the layout is done, the software is done, keycus clone done..

I am new to board layouts, so taking time with it. If you want to help me finish it off no problem.

The slowdowns is mainly down to lack of time and the NA motherboards are FRAGILE so keep dying (3 mobo's died on this project)

Last edited:
The schematic is done, the layout is done, the software is done, keycus clone done..

I am new to board layouts, so taking time with it. If you want to help me finish it off no problem.

The slowdowns is mainly down to lack of time and the NA motherboards are FRAGILE so keep dying (3 mobo's died on this project)
Honestly don't torment yourself with the design. Even if not perfect if you end up with a working solution it's always better than no solution at all, isn't it? You can also print few PCBs as protos and wait for feedbacks.
We're dealing with signals in the few MHz range on those old boards, propagation time is far from being a problem, traces length is usually not a problem, etc.

P.S.: What's the problem with NA motherboards? RAM? Solders?

What's the problem with NA motherboards? RAM? Solders?
mostly caps. they used super shitty SMD caps that love to explode and leak all over everything.

I have 7 of these PCBs, three I picked up were DOA but I fixed them this way:
A Note on "Broken" PCBs...