What's new

Geddon

Professional
Reaction score
Ok, I think I know the answer, but just wanted to make sure. With this mod will the modded B board then be compatible with any region A board? I’m new to CPS2 hardware, so go easy on me! I plan to mod a grey B board and have a US region A board. So should I wanted to check if I would be good to go with that combo? This project is so awesome. I didn’t know it even existed until a few days ago. Thanks guys!

I’m new to these forums, I’ll give a little background. I’ve messed with arcade hardware and rgb modding consoles for a while. Recently started messing with raspberry pi connected to rgb monitors with not much success, and I came across this mod which covers a lot of ground I wanted to do with the pi. Playing on real hardware is best anyway. I setup a multi mk box with a retroelectronik supergun and I have another supergun I plan to use with the multi cps2. I also have a candy cab the multi cps2 would go great in. I’m sure I’ll hang around a while and learn a lot from this forum and probably ask more dumb questions, but maybe I’ll be able to help out some others too.

With this mod will the modded B board then be compatible with any region A board? I’m new to CPS2 hardware, so go easy on me! I plan to mod a grey B board and have a US region A board. So should I wanted to check if I would be good to go with that combo?
I believe the Asian region board have one of the connectors flipped. So on USA/Japan Boards the A-Board has 4 Male connectors and the B-Board has 4 female connector. On the Asian PCBs it's 3x Female 1x Male, the Orange PCBs have a flipped connector too, only it's different than the Asian one.

I believe this is how the "region locking" is accomplished.

Correct, but I’ve seen adapters on the market to convert male/female connector.
So you could use Japan B board on Asia A board etc...

I’ve seen adapters on the market to convert male/female connector.