What's new

traplicious

Beginner
Reaction score
Noob here.

I just got a MvC A and B board from a seller on Craigslist.

It was suicided and I am trying to install phoenix roms. I already took the battery off and cleaned everything up.

I went thru and rewrote all of the eproms using a decrypted MvC set, which I tested in FBA and worked, said Phoenix Version and everything.

However, when I start it, it shows a screen that looks like an old Windows taco screensaver, then shows a bunch of garbled messes, then just shows white.

Here's a link to a vid: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B48VhoX6xWKUZlVZNE9UeFdfb2QyeFNDbjk5ZTlmT1RSVmVV

I burned the CPS2 tester and put that in, and it said that everything it checks tested fine.

I tried shorting the pins as well and nothing.

Any thoughts?

Full disclosure: when I was writing some of the eproms, I had to select M5M27C102K instead of M5M27C402.

The writer I'm using didn't have that one. It did let me write to it though ?( . Is there another chip similar that would work instead?

I had to select M5M27C102K instead of M5M27C402
Caveat, I haven't burned any phoenix sets, but thats a 1mbit chip vs a 4mbit chip. I am guessing all the rom data is actually 4mbit, so you're dropping data. What burner do you have? You could probably load up a generic profile for a 27c402 chip, not that specific mitsubishi m5m version, and it would work.

Program ROMs are 27C4096/27C4002 - look for one of those
Be aware for 27C4002 the morons who've designed those EPROMS have thought funny to require 6.25V on Vcc during programming (I think it's the only exception in the whole 27C range where 5V is required).
I've tried many programmers without any success (QG-4X, TL066, TOP3000, etc.) except with a good ol' Dataman48 (parallel) but it takes ~1m30 to burn on chip (512kB).

Also was the board working before it suicided? I mean it's not rare a faulty game is put aside and many years later the battery dies.