What's new

archimage

Happy
Grand Master
Reaction score
Hello,

I have bought recently Irem M72 Legend of Hero Tonma PCB.

I tried it on 2 setups :

- HAS supergun with meanwell psu gscartsw and a PVM 20L4 : no noise at all
- Sega New Net City + Toshiba PD1843 Trisync Chassis + Riverservice JVS>JAMMA adapter pcb model + Stepdown converter : I get some strange video noise with jailbars. I also have tried the Riverservice harness, tried alternative psus... no difference at all.

I have dozen of other PCBS and I have no video problems with both setups, except this game.

These rainbowish jailbars tend to be attenuated when I adjust horizontal size + horizontal position, they get wider when image is wider, and tend to spread on the image, but still present.

I suspect some filtering unsuccessful, but I have no knowledge on where to look.

I tried to hook the pcb to the HAS supergun + meanwell psu like on the PVM setup, then hooked it to a Scart>Jamma converter, noise is still present, but more attenuated. I am pretty sure something can be done to the video signal to attenuate these jailbars but I still don't get it as it requires knowledge on analog video.

It looks like some video noise on the Sega Megadrive, like some rainbow colored bars I get on some games with the pvm that tend to disappear when image is stretched a bit. But this is on the entire screen especially noticeable on solid colored backgrounds.

I wonder if some device can be hooked between the Riverservice JVS>JAMMA adapter and the monitor to filter video and get rid of that annoying noise. Monitor has a standard VGA input.
Agai'n my guess is some filtering is needed but it's just an intuition not based on real science.

I would be grateful if someone can give me some hint to get rid of these jailbars.

Thanks

BFf2K2H.jpg