What's new
How are you powering up the Gun Sense Board between consoles
I built a harness that plugs into the 3rd connector on the NAOMI PSU (the smaller one that doesn't connect to the NAOMI directly) and from that I added wires and connectors for both the JVS I/O board and the Gun board.

I don't think you'd have any problem tapping power from the JVS I/O 12V output header. I believe some of the Gun games uses a dedicated 12V supply for the gun board. This is just speculation but I wouldn't be surprised if that was done simply to keep voltages fluctuation from the rest of the hardware from effecting the adjustments/calibration of the gun hardware.

Back in the day when I was an arcade tech part of our standard procedure with calibrating gun games was to first dial in the power supply because variations in the voltage could screw up the gun calibration as well as the guns ability to track at all.

Awesome ok. I think I will be doing the same. Since that NAOMI PSU is pretty versatile, I can keep that powering the gun board and JVS I/O regardless of which console I am using.

Thanks!

(Oops hit Enter accidentally)

@twistedsymphony, quick question for you on your setup, I am using the HOTD4 wiring diagram to build my control panel. I notice there are 4 pins going to a 509-8101 board.

I am figuring that just grounding PIN3 (START) activates the start button.

Is the 5V source used to power the Start Lamp? Just curious how you have your Start/TEST/SERVICE situated on your setup.

Control Panel HOTD4.jpg

Last edited:
I finally got the IR LED Array rigged to turn on for this eventual projection setup. My problem now is that any game I load, the X Axis is always reversed by default. Do I have wires mixed up somewhere?

Nevermind. I ended up just flipping the Array horizontally. :)

Last edited:
Yeah, they added that because the 29" cabs reflect the screen off of a mirror and the 50" rear-projection cabs don't ;)