What's new

TheDeath

Professional
Reaction score
Hey guys
A friend of mine sent me a non-working Mortal Kombat 2 PCB and i'm trying to repair it at the moment. I'm used to repair Konami/Data East boards but i've never worked on this hardware before so it's kind of a guess here.

Board boots up, i hear the typical williams tone but the screen keeps black and nothing change. LED on DS2 lights up, DS3 does nothing at all.

This board had minor works on it, it was kind of "hacked" 4MB version and there was some stacking on few 27c040. Jumpers were also set wrong to what the 4Mb or 8Mb version suggest to.

First thing i did was prepare the board for the 8MB set, set the jumpers and remove all of the 27c040 (they were also not covered on the window...)
PAL's were looking fishy, i replaced the A-16217 with a GAL22V10 and A-17748 with GAL16V8.

Then i changed the main eeprom cpu (UJ12 and UG12) for the same version. I wanted to burn the 27c801 set but i was out of stock, i ordered them.

From what i've read about this hardware, common failures are DRAMS and V-Blank circuit. Like many of these boards, mine came with 256 DRAMS with, cherry on top, FUJITSU brand... so i have ordered a new set since i do not have anything that could test these (even the mighty wonder NEOLOCH).

The V-BLANK circuit is generated by UD6 and UA4 and this could cause a lost of sync to the monitor. My boards was not display anything so i might thought that was the problem but i've piggyback them and tested, they were fine.

I was wondering if my missing sprite/backgrd eeproms and fujitsu drams are preventing this to even get to the boot screen.

Has any of you worked on this and might have some tips ? ^^

If UJ11 is toast the board won't boot.
You can cut uj11 out and the game will still run (it's the cmos chip). this is always my first shot.

As you correctly identified the ram at UJ4-7 are possible.

UG13, UH13, UJ13, UB18 & UB19 are common to go and cause corrupted cpu data lines.