What's new

cerkit

Beginner
Reaction score
I just acquired my first arcade cabinet, a 1980 Pac-Man cocktail cabinet. However, when I plug it in, I only hear some crackling from the speaker for a few seconds and then silence. There's no picture on the monitor or sounds coming from the game. I measured the voltage on the power cable and it's 120v (my house is a little on the high side). I replaced all of the fuses and checked the voltage on the monitor cable. It was less than 5v. I then checked the voltage on the monitor transformer and I'm not getting the expected 115v.

I'd like to do a power supply conversion, but all of them tap the monitor voltage.

I've studied the schematic in the manual and I think it may have something to do with the filter, but I'm not sure what pin is what on that component.

I am an electronics hobbyist, not a professional, so my knowledge is limited.

Based on what I've tried already, does anyone have any ideas on how I might proceed? If I can, I'd like to continue to use the existing power supply. At the least, I'm going to have to find a way to get that 115v to the monitor.

Thanks.

OK. You checked the voltage on the power cable that plugs into the monitor and its feeding the monitor 0v?

First thing is to get the monitor working. Cant troubleshoot the PCB until you can see what's going on.

Midway games have a lot of issues with the older fuse blocks. I've had to replace them on a number of occasions, but your mileage may vary. Like Mitsu said, follow the AC voltage through the transformer and see if you can nail down where you're losing it.

Go here for a generic lesson on how the AC wiring in a typical arcade machine works.

http://arcadecontrols.com/BBBB/acwiring.html

It won't be exactly like your Pac, but it should give you at least an idea of what to expect.

I haven't read the link you sent, yet, so hopefully the answer will be in there.