What's new

suverman

Bulti Moyz
Grand Master
Multi Boyz
Reaction score
I recently got a few boards and one of them was Tumble pop. Infact it is the very same board which was repaired below:
http://www.jammarcade.net/tumblepop-repair-log/

The image is not stable on the board and I realised if I press the DE56 chip on one corner the image stabilises and is crystal clear.

I am not good at soldering but have access to tools like heat gun etc.

Can anyone please guide me how to fix this issue? Will heating up the area and pressing it down fix this problem?

just reflowing it would do the trick, add some flux and gently go over it with a proper hot air rework station.
Lots of videos on Youtube how to operate one.

But I would recommend 'testing' on a scrap/parts board first before you get to the real work.
And when in doubt, send it of to someone to do it for you, where are you located?

Also a pic of the board and an up-close pic of the culprit would help :)

Thanks @PascalP, I am right now in India and this board came from continental Europe 1 month back - not sure it will like to travel back :P

I ordered a rework station and a few other stuff couple of days back, I have a couple of boards acting up. Hoping to learn a bit of soldering and stuff to see if I can get my stuff working.

These are the photos;
117zmo9.jpg

This is the board

2dvoxs.jpg

If I press on the pin 40-41 corner of the chip, the video stabilises. Should I try pressing on the legs on the PCB to isolate further? I tried it once it seemed like pressing on the corner helps, not pressing the joints on the PCB...

looks like it already has been reflowed once I think?
Also around pin 98 it looks a bit dodgy.
But the bottom side of the pins (41-80) look a bit blurry in your picture, how does it look in real life?
Do you have a magnifying glass to examine the pins if you see something or a loose connection?

I would go with a reflow first, use lots of flux and you should be OK ;)

Last edited: