What's new

Catzoo

Student
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm still new to fixing PCB, so i'm looking for some clues on this one.

I'm trying to fix a Captain America (Data East) that shows nothing on boot, black screen, no sound. From what i know, it was working fine before storage.

It seem to had a rough life, most of the big rom (C31, C34, C38, C50 and C57) had a lot of rust on it that i tried to clean, and tracks on the component parts of the PCB had black dots everywhere, so i guess it's not a good sign. It's impossible to track them all, but from what i've checked with continuity, it's all good. Solder side is perfect.

From what i've read so far, this could be a lot of things obviously, but first things to check should be : power, CPU and reset circuit.

However, with this hardware, CPU is not obvious and i can't find any schematics.

Are there any checks i could do with a multimeter and a logic probe ? (like is the crystal ok, does the CPU do something etc.), can i short and damage thoses custom chips trying to probe them ?

Any help would be appreciated :)

Last edited:
Ok so i've just spent the last two days working on this, and finally i managed to do something with it !

First, i've decided that this rust on the rom where way too advanced, so i've decided to take a shot and used a whole fiber glass pen to remove whatever i could. It's still not perfect, but it's definitely an improvement. Cleaned it again and let it dry for the night.

Before :

After :

Still nothing this morning :unsure:

But after another good visual inspection, i found no less than 3 shorts on the solder side ! The pins on this side are so long that most of them were smashed down, and 3 of them were touching another pin ! Lifted the culprits and VOILA, the game booted ! 8)

Great news, but i'm still not done with this one.

First, i've noticed two things : some text were missing, and the sprites seem to have some "parasite" around them, like flickering white dots.