What's new
great guide! Looking forward to the next sections. thanks for putting this together!

I plan to use this with a GertVGA connected to an arcade monitor directly via VGA (both my cabs have VGA connection), how different would the settings be then you think?
Or can I just start with your guide and do the same steps>

I'm really a noob a this, so a pre-made image would be perfect :D

This is generally configured for a 15k monitor, I imagine you'd need to alter settings for 31k.

This is generally configured for a 15k monitor, I imagine you'd need to alter settings for 31k.
no no, both take 15k over VGA (New Net City with Tosh PF and Cyberlead with MS9), yes I know technically it is called DE15 and not VGA connector :P

@PascalP it will work straight from Gert VGA666 to PF with a standard HD15 cable with both 15khz and 31khz as if you were hooking a PC and changing modelines from groovymame.

Edit: I haven't tried AdvanceMame on this setup though. Most arcade games run full speed on fba. AdvanceMame doesn't perform well for games CPS1 onwards on this.
Any chance of a pre-built image?
This is a Lakka image - you need to burn it on a minimum 8GB SD card.
http://www.retrotink.com/downloads/RetroTINK_Lakka_211_08192018.zip

If you use Gert VGA/VGA666 hat for RPI just change the config.txt as in the first post of the below link:
https://www.reddit.com/r/RetroPie/comments/761tzi/vga666_retrotink_scripts_sony_pvm_240p_glory/

Put the roms in an USB stick plug it in the pi and a gamepad and its ready.

Demo for using the pre-built image - you can check there video quality here.

Only issue I find is the lag on the PI, image quality is impressive.

I have used for GertVGA and Retrotink using this prebuilt image, pretty nice.

Thanks for the Tutorial @Scandy looking forward to try it out.

Last edited:
@suverman I'm sorry but you're "mixing" a little bit (or maybe I'm misreading your reply).