What's new

pcbrown

Beginner
Reaction score
Hi all, I recently went through the process of troubleshooting my Darksoft CPS2 setup and figured I would share my experience. I had to do a lot of poking around this forum and in random other places via Google, and while the troubleshooting thread here is fairly comprehensive, I figured my anecdotal report might be useful in a different way. There's one bit of advice at the end that I think will be especially useful to some folks using Suzo Happ power supplies.

For reference: I'm new to arcade hardware and that will factor into my notes/process.

I started with a working CPS2 A board and a dead Rev. 7 B board (Street Fighter Zero 2, JPN), a new HAS 3.2 supergun, and a Suzo HAPP Power Pro 110w power supply.

Broken Pin

Things got off to a great start when I broke a pin while aligning the largest Darksoft board. I broke the lowest pin on the right side. In this case, at least, I was able to solder a wire from the pin's head on the top of Darksoft board, and then to the bottom of the socket on the underside of the B board.

Solid Red/White Screen

Pretty soon after resolving the broken pin and seating the boards I loaded my Micro SD card (8GB Patriot) with the latest roll-up base pack. The kit's display showed every game, and confirmed when flashing was complete, but after powering off and on I was met with solid colored screens instead of the game I flashed. I tried two A boards and would consistently get either a red or a white screen.

For a while I assumed it was due to improper seating of the various Darksoft boards, which led to repeat and harrowing removals and replacements of the kit.

Eventually, I stumbled on the real culprit: I hadn't installed (or even thought of) the four key writing wires, so I needed to use the OLD roll-up base pack. I swapped the files and was able to boot games… sometimes.

Corrupt Foreground Sprites