What's new

Tianfeng

Beginner
Reaction score
I used the search function but I was unable to find a clear answer. How is amplified audio mono and stereo, fed of the Jamma edge?

General all agree that pin 10 is mono but for stereo is is L or pin 11 or both depending on the boards?

Also what is the proper attenuation circuit for the audio. I saw some simple things like a 10k resistor in series with a 1k voltage divider and more complex thinks like 880ohm in series to a 47uf cap and 20k on the output.

I am pretty new to this stuff so any help is appreciated.

Most boards which are capable of stereo have an additional header for it which can be line level or amplified.
There are only some exceptions like NeoGeo MVS which have stereo on the Jamma edge (but then it is no longer called Jamma, but MVS pinout), There pin L is L+ and Pin 10 is R+)

Here is a list of most stereo board known and as you can see most have stereo either on an additional header or directly via RCA plugs;
List of arcade PCBs with stereo output

Thanks for that. So nothing uses pin 11? Is there a particular attenuation that people prefer to use?

So you wire the Jamma harness to the line level convertor then from the rca out to a seperate amp and speaker combo? Do you often swap boards on that setup? Do you have much fiddling to mainting audio levels?

Being a beginner I was also wondering about audio options.

So you wire the Jamma harness to the line level convertor then from the rca out to a seperate amp and speaker combo? Do you often swap boards on that setup? Do you have much fiddling to mainting audio levels?

Being a beginner I was also wondering about audio options.
Correct, and yes I swap boards a lot, but as most Jamma boards have volume control it is not hard to keep a steady volume.

I am reviving the thread, because I have some unanswered questions about JAMMA audio:

1. I am still unsure about pins L & 10 and M & 11.