What's new

tonyt76

Champion
Reaction score
Hey guys, I purchased a Vewlix L from KC but the cabinet does not have any type of useable wiring, just a bunch of unplugged molex connectors. I am new to Vewlix cabs so I don't have a lot of knowledge about them so bare with me... I am extremely tech savy and learn fast but this is all new to me.

Is the monitor 31hz VGA? I initially wanted to install a Jamma Pandoras box 6. Am I better off putting a pc inside with a brooks card for the controller?

Any help you guys can offer me is greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
Vewlix cabs are wired using the JVS standard. It is a newer style of interface that took over the jamma interface. In order to use jamma boards on a jvs wired cabinet, you would need a jamma to jvs converter. I believe someone on this site makes such a device, iirc, but I'm not sure.

I'm sure someone with much better knowledge will chine in here shortly to help

Open up the panel and take a pic to see what we have.. usually L's have a JVS I/O card and the controller is connected to it.. if you just want to run a pandora then your original plan of running a PC and a brook board in stead of a Pandora is a better option, you can run whatever you want on the PC, plus you can run modern HDMI consoles with an HDMI switch at 720p.. if the L has an original LCD monitor then 31khz - a bit above 720p but not 1080p.

Your monitor will support 31khz, and 768p.

Its JVS, so a bunch of molex connections is exactly what you should be expecting.

If you want to run JAMMA you can either hunt down the Vewlix JAMMA kit which isn't made anymore and was over $700 when it was being made, or you can get a JAMMAFIER from @invzim.

Like @SNK-NEO-GEO said, it'd be a lot easier to grab a PC and throw that in there.