What's new

GeekMan1222

Grand Master
Reaction score
I been working on a Bomber Man board I picked up in a broken state awhile ago. I have been playing around with it on and off.

I finally completely reflowed the Graphics chip pins and got ALOT of results. I went from no picture to picture. Its not perfect yet and I get a Ram Error at this point. I tried reflowing all the pins again but it makes no difference at this point. Continuity to the SRAM's running to the GPU seem normal. As a result I am getting some garbled sprites.

I am wondering where to attack next. I would assume its a ram issue since the board is saying it is getting ram errors. But I cant seem to rule out maybe some bad rom?? I am still learning about the inner workings of digital circuit repair.

I have an Oscilloscope I am borrowing from a buddy at the moment. So If anyone has any suggestions let me know.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1cNyudcvDM4tXfjOOzWlouvbUOAuNKGWV

I already moved the Daughter board off the main board a bit incase i needed access to those SRAMS's so excuse the jank looking temporary solution

Last edited:
If you have checked over the custom soldering, replace the ram.

I had one the other day same fault. You can use 2 different types of ram and there is a jumper to select.
You can use larger ram for the repair, but make sure it's set correct.

PS. as you can see... also decrypted bomber man, so it should be able to get running on 'hasamu' boards ;)

Thanks!

Wasn't sure which ram was responsible actually. Theres 4 rams running to that Nanao GPU chip. I'll go ahead and order some parts. I already have IC sockets that will work with this.

PS. as you can see... also decrypted bomber man, so it should be able to get running on 'hasamu' boards ;)
So you soldered 2 3pin headers on the left and right of that custom chip? They had square via's looked like a spot for something to go.