What's new

moltomolto

Student
Reaction score
Hi all, I recently got my first PGM board with a KOV Superheroes cart, but I'm experiencing some strange things that have me a bit concerned, was hoping some of the experts on here could shed some light on this, as I'm still relatively new to all of this.

First of all, the readout on my HAS has me paranoid. When I use my CPS2 board it stays at a consistent 5V, but with the PGM it's constantly fluctuating from 5, to 5.1, up to 5.2, and back down again. Is this normal? Should I be adjusted the PSU to compensate and put it back down to 5V?

The other issue is the whole top of the screen is warped to the right...almost as if the geometry on my display is completely off. But this only happens with the PGM...my geometry looks great with any other device I have plugged into my PVM.

Does this sound like there could be something wrong with the cart or board? I'd really appreciate any insight into this!

Thanks

5-F237-A93-5-A02-4-F6-C-AB9-E-2461-C943-B756.jpg

414-C31-B4-6-BE4-4-C9-C-87-CA-3-DD2-BFE22-C02.jpg

C5547936-B373-4512-A924-3-B369-EC7-C53-F.jpg
I tried without the cart and the weird geometry is still there so it must be something wrong with the motherboard?

Looks more like a sync issue to me, rather than a fault.

Try experimenting with the different sync outputs of the HAS.

@RGB - any insights?

None of the 3 of my PGM mobos fluctuate on my HAS 3.1.

How are you running it into the PVM? Also, as Frank said, have you tried adjusting the HAS sync settings?

This does look like a sync issue, though I've never seen something like that with the PGM. Please try "buffered" and "regenerated" CSync setting on the HAS, and also see if 75R/TTL level makes any difference. Also, is it connected from the HAS directly to the PVM? Do you use a cable with some kind of sync stripper, a Scart switcher or Extron? If you do, please remove all these additional components from your video chain and try again.