What's new

A-M

Student
Reaction score
I recently finished my Namco System 1 game exchanger project and I'm pretty happy of it :thumbup:

For info I’m not a pro in electronics, it took me a while to do it and there might be better ways to do it. My main concern in this project was to not harm the board in any way. No solder, no cut trace or whatever.

At the beginning I just wanted to put some ZIF sockets on every socket to swap game quickly. But the roms are so close to each other than it's seemed not to be a good idea.

I searched a bit more and realized that a lot of roms share the same data bus and address bus, which means that I can put the code into a single bigger rom and spare a lot space! I just needed to take the Chip Enable signal of every rom and redo the addressing with TTL. Here is my first test done with proto boards on the OBJ bus.

IMG-20181015-135622.jpg

IMG-20181014-023945.jpg

It’s quite a mess but it works !

IMG-20181014-031500.jpg

I did all of the 6 adapters and here is the full prototype done :

IMG-20181120-184205.jpg

To change game I just need to swap the six roms, easy and quick!
But I had some issues on the program bus, and I realized after that photo that it was because of the inverted A16 on the PRG 7 rom. I had to add an extra TTL to deal with it (like for the VOI 0). I redid the PRG adapter and learned how to use kicad to print my first small PCB! Of course I did a mistake :D I put the wrong hole size so I couldn’t put a ZIF in it. But anyway it worked well with a regular socket.

IMG-20181217-145913.jpg