What's new

Mitsurugi-w

Arcade Admini-Moderator
Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
7,223
Reaction score
8,049
Location
New Bern, NC USA
If we need to use a smaller than the standard 2.54 pitch we can.
 

9999 Damage

Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 18, 2022
Messages
126
Reaction score
111
Location
California
I got my kit and I realized there's some minor soldering required for the reset and QSound wires, not to mention the remote dip I just ordered. I'll learn to solder someday, but for now, I'll plan to send it off to an installer. In the mean time, I'd like to verify that my C-board actually works with the multi before I ship everything to an installer.

So, the question is: will the multi basically work without the reset and QSound wires in place?
 

the Goat

Grand Master
Joined
Dec 7, 2018
Messages
785
Reaction score
635
Location
Vermont, USA
I got my kit and I realized there's some minor soldering required for the reset and QSound wires, not to mention the remote dip I just ordered. I'll learn to solder someday, but for now, I'll plan to send it off to an installer. In the mean time, I'd like to verify that my C-board actually works with the multi before I ship everything to an installer.

So, the question is: will the multi basically work without the reset and QSound wires in place?
The Qsound wire is only needed for playing CPS1.5 games.
Without the Reset wire, the CPU will try reading from the flash ROMs while they are being erased and loaded with the new game. I don't recommend trying that.
 

RealMFnG

Legendary
Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
4,750
Reaction score
4,084
Location
Northern California
I got my kit and I realized there's some minor soldering required for the reset and QSound wires, not to mention the remote dip I just ordered. I'll learn to solder someday, but for now, I'll plan to send it off to an installer. In the mean time, I'd like to verify that my C-board actually works with the multi before I ship everything to an installer.

So, the question is: will the multi basically work without the reset and QSound wires in place?
Where in CA are you?
 

GeorgeSpinner

Professional
Joined
Oct 20, 2020
Messages
429
Reaction score
376
Location
Piscataway NJ USA
I got my kit and I realized there's some minor soldering required for the reset and QSound wires, not to mention the remote dip I just ordered. I'll learn to solder someday, but for now, I'll plan to send it off to an installer. In the mean time, I'd like to verify that my C-board actually works with the multi before I ship everything to an installer.

So, the question is: will the multi basically work without the reset and QSound wires in place?
This is about the easiest soldering you could ever have to do.

If you have any old PCB or electronics you don't care about; I would bet that if you practiced for even just 5 minutes on it, you'd be ready to solder these 2 wires.

Getting good at soldering requires some practice and the right tools, but this does not require you to be good at soldering or to use any special tools.

It's up to you, obviously, but any able-bodied person can do this job.
 
  • Like
Reactions: dos

DCrosby

Student
Joined
May 6, 2021
Messages
68
Reaction score
68
Location
Los Angles, Ca
Same, if you're closer to the San Fernando Valley, you can bring it by my place... I'll do it for free... PM Me...
Back When I had something difficult to do, that I wasn't capable of doing, I found a TV Repair shop and they charged me $10-$15 about 5-10 years ago, and they handled it for me, mostly surface mount stuff, now I can do stuff like that as well, but yes it does take some practice.

I do also have a bit of a gripe, I can't get the display to read well, I have to tilt it all the way to almost horizontal to be able to read it, on some of the identical displays I have for Ras-Pi or arduino there's generally a little pot to adjust the angle/intensity of the display... I couldn't find one on mine...
 

mathewbeall

Champion
Joined
Nov 6, 2017
Messages
1,365
Reaction score
938
Location
Mission Viejo, CA, USA
Hey @DCrosby - the pot to adjust the brightness of the LCD display is right behind where the cable plugs in (on the multi board).

Matt
 

DCrosby

Student
Joined
May 6, 2021
Messages
68
Reaction score
68
Location
Los Angles, Ca
OH.... It's on the board, and not on the display? That's why that threw me...
 

9999 Damage

Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 18, 2022
Messages
126
Reaction score
111
Location
California
@mathewbeall @DCrosby Man, this community is overflowing with generous peeps! I'm in the SF Bay Area, though.

@GeorgeSpinner I was worried someone would say that! All the same, it would make me feel better knowing I had verified whether the setup works before I solder something, since I otherwise won't even know if I did something dumb with the soldering iron. :P
 

Epyc

Enthusiast
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
Messages
237
Reaction score
194
Location
CA, USA
@mathewbeall @DCrosby Man, this community is overflowing with generous peeps! I'm in the SF Bay Area, though.

@GeorgeSpinner I was worried someone would say that! All the same, it would make me feel better knowing I had verified whether the setup works before I solder something, since I otherwise won't even know if I did something dumb with the soldering iron. :P
I’m in the South Bay and can help you solder your multi. Let me know.
 

9999 Damage

Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 18, 2022
Messages
126
Reaction score
111
Location
California
I’m in the South Bay and can help you solder your multi. Let me know.
Where do all of the generous people keep coming from?? You are all awesome.

GeorgeSpinner talked/shamed me into ordering some soldering equipment. If I can really get going without much practice, I'm going to give it a shot! And if I realize quickly I'm in over my head, you will get a PM. :D
 

RealMFnG

Legendary
Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
4,750
Reaction score
4,084
Location
Northern California
I’m in the South Bay and can help you solder your multi. Let me know.
If you get stuck, holla. I wired it up slightly differently because I don't like exposed wires on my PCB's. See here for details.
Where do all of the generous people keep coming from?? You are all awesome.

GeorgeSpinner talked/shamed me into ordering some soldering equipment. If I can really get going without much practice, I'm going to give it a shot! And if I realize quickly I'm in over my head, you will get a PM. :D
Learn to solder later. Take him up on the offer so you can get to playing right away this fabulous device. If you guys get stuck, holla.
 

GeorgeSpinner

Professional
Joined
Oct 20, 2020
Messages
429
Reaction score
376
Location
Piscataway NJ USA

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Immortal
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
7,058
Reaction score
12,097
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Also before you take to the multi with the iron. Grab a breadboard and a pack of 10 or 20 resistors or other parts and practice soldering them in to get a “feel” for the process, heat and iron.

That’s how I started working toward getting decent with my iron.
 

the Goat

Grand Master
Joined
Dec 7, 2018
Messages
785
Reaction score
635
Location
Vermont, USA
Also before you take to the multi with the iron. Grab a breadboard and a pack of 10 or 20 resistors or other parts and practice soldering them in to get a “feel” for the process, heat and iron.

That’s how I started working toward getting decent with my iron.
Woah, you should not be soldering components to an electronics breadboard. I think @djsheep means practice with a "PCB blank".
 

Derick2k

Immortal
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
9,890
Reaction score
10,771
Location
NYC, USA
Woah, you should not be soldering components to an electronics breadboard. I think @djsheep means practice with a "PCB blank".

@9999 Damage

Any electronics course that involves soldering will always teach you to solder/desolder on junk electronic pcbs. Best way to get a feel for it on how/what works best for you.

Pick up some junk boards from your electronics recycling/dump, just harvest some pcb from there.

If you dont have any junk boards then get a perf board like this:
1654555229431.png


Get some inexpensive soldering gear and supplies. I prefer leaded solder, whatever you get, get some good no clean flux also

Good luck, you can do this yourself man, go for it.
 
Last edited:

dos

Champion
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
970
Reaction score
1,568
Location
South Florida
I use leaded rosin flux core 63/37 solder, Kester 44. I rarely have to use additional flux on through hole work. Clean the area beforehand with 99% (and not lower) isopropyl alcohol. Then clean it again with the same stuff when done to remove the small flux residue. I like using these for cleaning off the flux, dipped in isopropyl:

https://www.amazon.com/Lantee-Plastic-Cleaning-Keyboard-Soldering/dp/B073WYB6NW
 
Top