What's new

jassin000

Immortal
Multi Boyz
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
8,552
Reaction score
7,527
Location
Nashua, NH USA
coaxial cable
That cable you got is a beast, its so rugged the thing is actually resistant to even flexing.
Beats the hell out of my first draft... A stripped right RCA audio cable. :whistling:

Glad you got sound working without having to make that drive back, jumpers... Who knew!
Wish I had seen some directions. :P
 

KinG_SoPa

Grand Master
Joined
Aug 21, 2018
Messages
854
Reaction score
618
Location
Florida
coaxial cable
That cable you got is a beast, its so rugged the thing is actually resistant to even flexing.Beats the hell out of my first draft... A stripped right RCA audio cable. :whistling:

Glad you got sound working without having to make that drive back, jumpers... Who knew!
Wish I had seen some directions. :P
Thanks @jassin000 you did your job flawless it was my mistake for misdirecting you with un clear instructions. :whistling: :D
 

Hypnotoad

Student
Joined
Jan 19, 2019
Messages
57
Reaction score
27
Location
Uk
The pico psu is very handy bud and sorts out the correct voltages for board, just wire up the relevant 12v and 5v the only advice I would say is the the cps2 uses just over 3amps and if your integrating a HDMI mod I would make sure when wiring up the 5v you do so over 2 pins of the 5v rather than 1 solder point as 1 solder point can only carry 3amp and use good cabling at least 22awg.
 

yuro

Student
Joined
Mar 2, 2017
Messages
163
Reaction score
78
Location
Dublin, CA
These pictures ARE NOT MINE! Credit goes to @ifixretro on Twitter. Here he's used Undamned Decoders and installed the Pico PSU.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_3690.jpg
    IMG_3690.jpg
    448.3 KB · Views: 194
  • IMG_3691.jpg
    IMG_3691.jpg
    800.6 KB · Views: 239
  • IMG_3692.jpg
    IMG_3692.jpg
    658.8 KB · Views: 209
  • IMG_3693.jpg
    IMG_3693.jpg
    497.4 KB · Views: 195
  • IMG_3694.jpg
    IMG_3694.jpg
    845.4 KB · Views: 253
  • IMG_3695.jpg
    IMG_3695.jpg
    352.6 KB · Views: 188
  • IMG_3696.jpg
    IMG_3696.jpg
    774.4 KB · Views: 213

FakeNoose

Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 15, 2018
Messages
178
Reaction score
59
Location
USA
These pictures ARE NOT MINE! Credit goes to @ifixretro on Twitter. Here he's used Undamned Decoders and installed the Pico PSU.
looks great. finally an answer to consolizing the cps2. Im curious to know if its possible to tap the 3p - 4p?
 

darksofter

Student
Joined
Aug 24, 2015
Messages
166
Reaction score
34
How do you get an analog RGB signal out from the board besides from a supergun? I am looking for an internal solution. I remember undamned made a PlayStation 1/2/3 output for his consolized cps2.
 

jassin000

Immortal
Multi Boyz
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
8,552
Reaction score
7,527
Location
Nashua, NH USA
RGB signal out from the board besides from a supergun
You could trace the RGBs pins from the JAMMA edge back into the PCB with a multimeter in conductivity mode.
jamma_pinout.gif


Looking for a clever place to solder along the path (something like a unused/unfilled via junction or a resistor/cap leg.

Only word of warning is make sure you are grabbing the video signals between onboard components and the JAMMA edge...
Don't bypass any components necessary for proper video output/ie grab the signal too early before its processed onboard.
 
Last edited:

MRTCPS2

Student
Joined
Jul 13, 2018
Messages
41
Reaction score
21
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Received my unit today after missing the courier yesterday, gave it a quick test with some ST and is working great.
Now just to fix up my messy ud-usb wiring situation ;(

Thanks RGB! :thumbsup:
 

Attachments

  • 4.jpg
    4.jpg
    107.8 KB · Views: 232
  • 5.jpg
    5.jpg
    108.8 KB · Views: 173

FakeNoose

Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 15, 2018
Messages
178
Reaction score
59
Location
USA
Received my unit today after missing the courier yesterday, gave it a quick test with some ST and is working great.
Now just to fix up my messy ud-usb wiring situation ;(

Thanks RGB! :thumbsup:
so were you able to just plug the pico psu in and it worked? Mine wouldn't turn on at all.
 

MRTCPS2

Student
Joined
Jul 13, 2018
Messages
41
Reaction score
21
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Received my unit today after missing the courier yesterday, gave it a quick test with some ST and is working great.
Now just to fix up my messy ud-usb wiring situation ;(

Thanks RGB! :thumbsup:
so were you able to just plug the pico psu in and it worked? Mine wouldn't turn on at all.
Yeah, just had to switch my wall outlet on which lights up my pico and then I moved the on/off switch on the I/O interface.
 

xterc

Student
Joined
Aug 23, 2017
Messages
17
Reaction score
28
Location
Tomball, TX, USA
Does anyone know if the 12V line can be removed if you are using HDMI and not utilizing the sound amp in the CPS2?

I've received the Jamma connectors and board from OSHPark. Now I just have to wait for the remaining parts to be received from Digi-Key. Thank you RGB for sharing this project.

DSC00168.jpg
 
  • Like
Reactions: RGB

jassin000

Immortal
Multi Boyz
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
8,552
Reaction score
7,527
Location
Nashua, NH USA
I ordered it from OSHPark and selected the 'After Dark (Black Substrate + Clear Mask)' option.
You have a lovely setup!
When you look at the progress here this is really arcade 2.0 we've arrived at.
I really enjoy your choice of supergun stick, I too use a gutted matcatz tvsc (100% same body type).
 
Top