What's new

Koolhass

Beginner
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
7
Location
Chile
Hello Guys! Maybe someone here can help me with a strange problem that i have with a CPS2 board. I have Street Fighter Zero 2, i don't use it very often, so whennever i play with it again, it forgets my sound volume settings. Also, always when i start to play, display minimal strange graphical glitches that magically go away after a few minutes playing. Could be the capacitors? Also, i cleaned the pins on A board, and there is nothing bent. Both boards are well inserted.

Regards!
 

arcadeaction

Enthusiast
Joined
Oct 28, 2015
Messages
102
Reaction score
67
Location
FL, USA
Regarding the sound, try holding down one or both of the sound volume buttons on the CPS2 board when you power it up. This can reset it. I also have one or two CPS2 boards that do that. I can't recall the specific order of button press on startup, but that has worked for me.
 

Koolhass

Beginner
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
7
Location
Chile
Thanks for the tip Arcadeaction, with that technique i can hear the sound, however, if the board stays off for a while, resets to 0, leading me to think that is a problem with the super capacitor. I'll attach some pictures of the glitch, again, if i leave the game playing for about 5 minutes (or even just turned on) it dissapears completely. The g;litch also flickers. Maybe something heat - related?
 

Attachments

  • WhatsApp Image 2021-04-06 at 09.54.53.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2021-04-06 at 09.54.53.jpeg
    233.5 KB · Views: 62
  • WhatsApp Image 2021-04-06 at 09.54.25.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2021-04-06 at 09.54.25.jpeg
    222.7 KB · Views: 58
  • WhatsApp Image 2021-04-06 at 09.54.24.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2021-04-06 at 09.54.24.jpeg
    229.7 KB · Views: 58

And One

Student
Joined
Jul 20, 2016
Messages
131
Reaction score
33
Location
Orange County CA.
Just for the record, I also have a grey street fighter zero 2 alpha that has little graphical issues at the beginning of boot up but goes away also. Not sure if yours is grey asia version but seems like the same issue.
 

Thchardcore

Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 14, 2019
Messages
235
Reaction score
172
Location
Pelosiville Commiefornia
I have a Vampire board that shows character/hud flickering only when set to turbo 2...
 

Koolhass

Beginner
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
7
Location
Chile
Guys, just replaced the super capacitor and the problem was gone, thank you for all your help!
 
Top