What's new

SelfDeniedHoarderz

Professional
Joined
Aug 11, 2015
Messages
302
Reaction score
157
Location
Melbourne
Not so much familiar with this whole darkstalker game line up for cps2,but from what i've read, the Vampire Saviour released in Japan for CPS2 has two deviation called Vampire Saviour 2 and Vampire Hunter 2. Both deviations have different rosters, but none of these version have complete roster. I know that Darkstalker 3 released on PS1 has complete roster but it seems the game don't get any arcade port at all.

Anyway to hack and combine roster from Vampire Saviour 2 and Vampire Hunter 2 together to create what we called as "Darkstalker 3 for CPS2"?
 

Dache

Student
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
115
Reaction score
47
Location
Leeds, UK
I don't know if that would be possible, as the reported reason for both Savior 2 and Hunter 2 existing in the first place is because they couldn't fit all characters into the graphics ROM. No such restriction on CD space, hence the PS1 Darkstalkers 3.

I wonder if it would be possible with 2020 tools and better compression? But that's a significant amount of work, if it would at all.
 

GuileWinQuote

Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 14, 2018
Messages
129
Reaction score
83
Location
Houston, Texas
Also, Vsav and Vsav 2 have modified engines from each other, so it's not exactly the same game.
It's why the community plays 1 over 2, as 2 made some very bad mechanic changes from the first game.
 

Dk310

Enthusiast
Joined
Feb 13, 2017
Messages
219
Reaction score
111
Location
El Segundo, CA
Also, Vsav and Vsav 2 have modified engines from each other, so it's not exactly the same game.
It's why the community plays 1 over 2, as 2 made some very bad mechanic changes from the first game.
What were the changes actually?Color me interested now.
 

Rotanibor

Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 11, 2016
Messages
111
Reaction score
145
Location
SoCal

Dk310

Enthusiast
Joined
Feb 13, 2017
Messages
219
Reaction score
111
Location
El Segundo, CA

Rotanibor

Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 11, 2016
Messages
111
Reaction score
145
Location
SoCal
it says the IP address can't be found :(
That's odd. It works for me. ?(

To speak on the topic a bit. The PS1 port is very much a port, and a bad one. There is a lot wrong with that version of the game. Some people have mentioned using the PS2 version of the game since it's "emulated" but my impression is that it is not such a simple task.
 

suprawhite

Student
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
169
Reaction score
51
Location
Huntington Beach, CA
If they can do this to Alpha 3 would be awesome since the CPS2 version does not have Guile and FeiLong.
 

GeeDee

Professional
Joined
Jun 2, 2019
Messages
272
Reaction score
250
Location
Kodak, TN
Some people have mentioned using the PS2 version of the game since it's "emulated" but my impression is that it is not such a simple task.
This is basically what happened with Third Strike OE, but in reverse. I imagine it's possible, but the level of work required would be unbelievably substantial considering the actual base game differences. You would quite honestly be talking about redesigning all of the missing characters and re-balancing them specifically for VSAV, rather than just "ripping and combining" games/characters. That's like smash remix/SF2 new legacy levels of work
 

Dache

Student
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
115
Reaction score
47
Location
Leeds, UK
To speak on the topic a bit. The PS1 port is very much a port, and a bad one. There is a lot wrong with that version of the game. Some people have mentioned using the PS2 version of the game since it's "emulated" but my impression is that it is not such a simple task.
Funny you mention the PS2 version, it was briefly looked at by @strygo recently as part of their digging into the Street Fighter Alpha Anthology, and they reckon the PS2 Darkstalkers collection is built on the same engine, so I wonder if any of the same findings could be applied to VS: Street Fighter Zero 2 Dash on Arcade
 
Top