What's new

MissionFailed

Professional
Joined
Dec 9, 2015
Messages
728
Reaction score
424
Location
WA, USA
Not at the moment. Was trying to internet search if anyone else has tried it, before running out and buying multiples.

even if the 3 game spaces per cart doesn't work. Running in game boot mode and using each cart as a single game space would eliminate switching out physical carts.

If it works I guess I'll be buying 5 then. :D
 

MissionFailed

Professional
Joined
Dec 9, 2015
Messages
728
Reaction score
424
Location
WA, USA
Awesome. Does behaving like a normal cart only apply when in gameboot mode?

You would have to initial setup each cart individually. Correct? Setting to Gameboot mode, one cart at a time before populating multiple slots.

4 slot Numerical order?
Official cart --> Gameboot mode ---> Gameboot mode --> Virtual 3 slot multi cart
 
Last edited:

Mitsurugi-w

Arcade Admini-Moderator
Staff member
Legendary
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
6,966
Reaction score
7,260
Location
New Bern, NC USA
The cart acts like a normal cat once it has booted, loaded the slots, and then booted into the first game. Our cart does this on every boot. You can speed it up a little by adjusting the auto boot time on the menu.
 

GeorgeSpinner

Professional
Joined
Oct 20, 2020
Messages
328
Reaction score
244
Location
Piscataway NJ USA
I am having trouble with Metal Slug on MVS.

I am running the latest firmware and menu (to the best of my knowledge).

These are the motherboards giving be trouble: MV1A, MV1B, and MV1C.

Those are the only boards I have.

firmware = 20200602_r1169_MVS_Only

menu = menu_20211217

bios = unibios 4.0

rom pack = Darksoft Neo Geo 2021-12-14

The sd card is a generic 32GB SDHC card that works fine with all the other games.

The issue = every time I try to enable the auto-fire cheat in the unibios cheats menu - A green "Address Error" screen is displayed with a message about "bad contact".

Contact is not the issue. 6 motherboards don't have the same problem and no other rom is giving me trouble.

Is anyone else experiencing this issue?

Thanks.
 

Mitsurugi-w

Arcade Admini-Moderator
Staff member
Legendary
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
6,966
Reaction score
7,260
Location
New Bern, NC USA
Does it give you the option to hit C for a soft reset and play?
 

GeorgeSpinner

Professional
Joined
Oct 20, 2020
Messages
328
Reaction score
244
Location
Piscataway NJ USA
Yes. C to reset. After reset it gives same error again.

Sometimes I don't even see the error after setting the enable auto fire cheat, the game just freezes.

Edit: just to be clear, it gets the error after reset without setting the cheat again. Just inserting a credit will cause it to fail.
 
Last edited:

Fuzzy_Dunlop

New User
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Location
Minneapolis
I just received an MVS Multi and am seeing a few glitches. I'm wondering if they are normal.

1) After selecting a new game in a slot and programming the screen glitches out while loading. The games appear to load correctly based on the little bit of time I've spent with it. This only happens when selecting 1 or more new games. If I reset the MVS and load the same games that were previously programmed this doesn't occur. I've attached a screenshot.

2) If I use my 161 in 1 multicart (in Pick N Mix mode via UniBIOS) when I go back to the Darksoft cart the menu settings are restored to defaults. Assuming the multicart is messing with the backup RAM?

This is on a consolized recapped MV1C with a UniBIOS 4.0 with a 5V 3A Mean Well power supply.

Thanks
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2022-03-26 at 8.12.50 AM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2022-03-26 at 8.12.50 AM.jpg
    180.1 KB · Views: 11
Last edited:

GeorgeSpinner

Professional
Joined
Oct 20, 2020
Messages
328
Reaction score
244
Location
Piscataway NJ USA
I just received an MVS Multi and am seeing a few glitches. I'm wondering if they are normal.

1) After selecting a new game in a slot and programming the screen glitches out while loading. The games appear to load correctly based on the little bit of time I've spent with it. This only happens when selecting 1 or more new games. If I reset the MVS and load the same games that were previously programmed this doesn't occur. I've attached a screenshot.

2) If I use my 161 in 1 multicart (in Pick N Mix mode via UniBIOS) when I go back to the Darksoft cart the menu settings are restored to defaults. Assuming the multicart is messing with the backup RAM?

This is on a consolized recapped MV1C with a UniBIOS 4.0 with a 5V 3A Mean Well power supply.

Thanks
I think that's normal. Mine does it too.

Are you sure you didn't accidently load 161in1 not in PICKnMIX mode 1 time? 161in1 clears backup ram when not in PICKnMIX. When in PICKnMIX it does not (in my experience).

That's why I created an auto PICKnMIX project. I was tired of losing my turf Masters high scores.
 

Fuzzy_Dunlop

New User
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Location
Minneapolis
On mine it does it even if I load it in PICKnMIX mode. Perhaps it's dependent on the revision of the multicart?

Thanks for the response, good to know the graphical glitching isn't abnormal.
 

GeorgeSpinner

Professional
Joined
Oct 20, 2020
Messages
328
Reaction score
244
Location
Piscataway NJ USA
On mine it does it even if I load it in PICKnMIX mode. Perhaps it's dependent on the revision of the multicart?

Thanks for the response, good to know the graphical glitching isn't abnormal.
I'm using series 1 and series 2 banana carts.

PICKnMIX supports saving high scores. It would be kinda odd for it to wipe them out. Are you sure DarkSoft multi isn't wiping the backup ram? I'm not that familiar with DarkSoft cart yet. I think under some circumstance it does wipe the backup ram.

Can you do me a favor?

Can you try metal slug on your Darksoft cart? Enable the auto fire cheat and see if it crashes? Assuming you have unibios.
 

Fuzzy_Dunlop

New User
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Location
Minneapolis
I'm using series 1 and series 2 banana carts.

PICKnMIX supports saving high scores. It would be kinda odd for it to wipe them out. Are you sure DarkSoft multi isn't wiping the backup ram? I'm not that familiar with DarkSoft cart yet. I think under some circumstance it does wipe the backup ram.
That is likely the case. Darksoft cart uses backup ram to save it's settings so I'm guessing the multi-cart may be overwriting the Darksoft specific save slots which contain the menu settings.

Can you do me a favor?

Can you try metal slug on your Darksoft cart? Enable the auto fire cheat and see if it crashes? Assuming you have unibios.=
Yes, it crashes for me as well. Assuming it's an issue with that specific cheat.
 
Last edited:

Fuzzy_Dunlop

New User
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Location
Minneapolis
@Darksoft, I believe I found a bug with Shock Troopers (set 2) which is reproducible for me on an MV1C with UniBIOS 4.0, even after a backup RAM reset.

1) The first time loading the game I first enabled the violence soft dip setting and game worked fine. Attached is a screenshot of the soft dip settings where Violence = on and Language = English
2) The next time I attempt to play the game I get an Exception Error Handling message (see screenshot)
3) If I press C to reboot, then press the B+C+D hotkey to enter the operator menu and enter the soft dip setting Language is now set to Japanese (see screenshot). If I change it to English and exit out the game works fine.
4) The game will continue to work between power offs until I remove it from a slot and re-program it. At which time the same thing will happen. It will get an error message and entering the soft dip menu the language will have reverted to Japanese. As before changing back to English fixes the game so it's playable.

I've also noticed a few times after playing Shock Troopers for a while and then switching to the game in Slot 3 it has no sound. Slot 2 will still have sound and even after toggling back and forth between slots #3 will always be silent. If I exit back to the menu and immediately re-load the games sound is restored on slot 3. Perhaps this isn't related to Shock Troopers (set 2) at all, but it's the only game I've experienced it with. In both cases there was a different game in Slot 3 (Magician Lord and then Cyber Lip) that lost sound.
 

Attachments

  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    102.2 KB · Views: 9
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    219.7 KB · Views: 9
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    104 KB · Views: 9
Last edited:

GeorgeSpinner

Professional
Joined
Oct 20, 2020
Messages
328
Reaction score
244
Location
Piscataway NJ USA
That is likely the case. Darksoft cart uses backup ram to save it's settings so I'm guessing the multi-cart may be overwriting the Darksoft specific save slots which contain the menu settings.


Yes, it crashes for me as well. Assuming it's an issue with that specific cheat.
Thanks for checking that out for me. I think it's either a DarkSoft issue, or a rom issue.

That cheat works fine on 161in1 and other flash carts. I believe it even works fine when converting that rom for use on MiSTer and other flash cart formats.
 

Darksoft

Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
9,900
Reaction score
13,292
Location
Poland
Or a UNIBIOS issue. The UNIBIOS is a hack that can have unexpected issues. That's why I asked to test with OG Bios.
 

GeorgeSpinner

Professional
Joined
Oct 20, 2020
Messages
328
Reaction score
244
Location
Piscataway NJ USA
Or a UNIBIOS issue. The UNIBIOS is a hack that can have unexpected issues. That's why I asked to test with OG Bios.
I did not see your response since it wasn't directed are anyone.

I can do that today.

I will let you know.
 
Top