What's new

TheBortot

Enthusiast
Joined
May 29, 2017
Messages
186
Reaction score
17
Location
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Hi, have some doubts about power supply. In the IO board, theres a jamma conector and the JST one. In the Naomi motherboard theres 2 other JST(6 and 8 pin). Saw some pictures and noticed that the Sun Naomi PSU goes for the 2 JSTs in the motherboard.
But what about the 6pin JST in the IO board? Naomi uses 2 power supplies - one going through jamma to IO, other from the Sun psu to Motherboard?
 

MoppelTheWhale

Grand Master
Joined
Feb 16, 2018
Messages
793
Reaction score
734
Location
Nuremberg, Gemany
sun psu is connected to naomi, i/o board gets power from the jamma edge - at least it's like this on my setup
 

TheBortot

Enthusiast
Joined
May 29, 2017
Messages
186
Reaction score
17
Location
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
So, that was my doubt- naomi needs 2 power suppliers. Thx!
 

TheBortot

Enthusiast
Joined
May 29, 2017
Messages
186
Reaction score
17
Location
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Not necessarily. Depends on your setup.
Hm, generic arcade PSU through supergun into jamma i/o board and that's it. Need to plug another PSU into motherboard?
@Mitsurugi-w
Asking because my first contact with Naomi was a broken one, but i'm getting a new one and maybe i don't need a second PSU to feed it.
 

xodaraP

Legendary
Joined
Sep 21, 2016
Messages
4,465
Reaction score
3,266
Location
Gold Coast, Australia
Not necessarily. Depends on your setup.
Hm, generic arcade PSU through supergun into jamma i/o board and that's it. Need to plug another PSU into motherboard?@Mitsurugi-w
Asking because my first contact with Naomi was a broken one, but i'm getting a new one and maybe i don't need a second PSU to feed it.
If you're using a JAMMA IO other than Capcom, you will need 2 PSUs.

The Capcom IO can feed the NAOMI directly, however you can't netboot with this setup because the Capcom IO can't supply enough on the 3.3v line for the NetDIMM.

There are several solutions:

- 2 power supplies
- Custom setup where your PSU also powers the IO board.
- Use a proper JVS PSU with the JVS IO
 

Raph_friend

Professional
Joined
May 28, 2017
Messages
590
Reaction score
417
Location
Brazil
I use only one PSU, you just need to know if it can supply enough and have the 3.3V.
NVS_4000_02x_PSU_3.JPG
 

Swisstoni69

Beginner
Joined
Feb 9, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
5
Location
UK
Im using a Sega Astro City if im just using carts not netboot can I power the naomi using the capcom io/jamma edge without the sun psu?
 
Top