What's new

MoppelTheWhale

Grand Master
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I have an idea what i would like to try, but as i already said i'm pretty much a complete noob when it comes to electronics. So before start i would like your opinions if its even doable.

At the moment i only own a little Bartop with very limited Space inside. All the wiring comes together in a supergun from Arcadeforge, which also has NeoGeo Style Connectors.
My Buttons have the typical 6 Button Layout (upper Row 1-3, lower row 4-6). But when playing games which have another Layout, for example Neo Geo, i need a different wiring.

What i did so far is that i connected multiple wires to the buttons and soldered different connectors for the D SUB connector (in the case of Neo Geo upper row 2-4, lower row 1, N/C, N/C)to get the button mapping i want.

This works but has some flaws for me:

- Space: the connectors take up so much space that i cannot get all the Stuff inside the Bartop
- Connection Issues: Always changing the connectors i pretty fast get loose connections which results in gaming downtime.

After seeing here on the forum what cool stuff some of you guy did with arduino boards i thought perhaps it is possible to change the different button maps with an arduino. With some buttons and a little display to quickly change the button layout.
I think it should be possible, the advantages would be no changing the wiring all the time, easier adding of new Button mappings, for example for dc2jamma or stuff like that which i' planning to do in the future

The two biggest potential problems i'm seeing is that this could perhaps introduce some input lag, and that is something i don't want at all...

And the second one of course is the complete lack of knowledge, but i can be pretty stubborn when i want to do something and i know its doable...

Any opinions from you guys?

this could perhaps introduce some input lag
yes, but most likely < 2ms for something as simple as this.