What's new

Apocalypse

Legendary
Joined
Dec 6, 2017
Messages
3,408
Reaction score
5,768
Location
New-Zealand
Important information:
Games aren't preloaded in the multi, users must download romsets by themselves then generate appropriate rom files with the tool (for Windows) provided here in attachment:

View attachment M72_V2_ROM_GEN.zip

Steps:

1) Unzip all romsets at the same place


2) Unzip the M72_V2_ROM_GEN file attached, it contains:
- bps files for ROMs 01, 02 and 06
- M72_V2_ROM_GEN command file
- interleave.exe
- flips.exe


3) Simply run the M72_V2_ROM_GEN command file. It will generate ready to burn files for ROMs 01 to 10 (it's normal 03 doesn't exist):


Before burning any chip please check all files are exactly 4096kb in size except for 06 where it should be 2048kb.

Universal GAL file on the motherboard:
View attachment M72_motherboard_PAL.zip

Multi GAL file for V1 kits not modified for Pound For Pound:
View attachment MULTI_M72_V1_GAL16V8.zip

Instructions to modify V1 kits:
Irem M72 multi kit installation & support

Multi GAL file for V1 kits modified for Pound For Pound and ALL V2 kits:
View attachment MULTI_M72_V2_GAL16V8.zip

Installation of the kit is solderless.
Kit is composed of two boards, one fit on the bottom board (background tiles) and the other one on the top board (main CPU code, sprites, samples), one 4 pin jumper cable, one universal GAL chip, one universal MCU chip and 6 PCB spacers.

1) Separate top board and bottom board from the middle board. On my boardset I had to separate the bottom board first by unclipping the two flat cables on one side , the small 4 pin power connector on the other side (JAMMA side) and then unclipping the spacer. Then I could access the 4 screws holding the top board.

2) Remove all ROMs/mask ROMs from the bottom boards (8 of them) and move jumpers as follow:
J2 = B
J3 = B
J4 = B
J5 = B

3) Install the smaller board from the kit, be careful no pin is bent or broken and check the position and alignment from the pictures below. The yellow arrow shows how the pins must be aligned with the socket underneath:





4) Connect the jumper cable to the square pins on the left.

5) Remove all ROMs/mask ROMs from the top board, so as the PAL chip and the MCU chip and move jumpers as follow:
J1 = A
J2 = A
J3 = B
J4 = A
J5 = B
J6 = B
J7 = A
J8 = empty
J9 = A
J10 = A
J11 = B
J12 = A

6) Install the bigger (really big!) board, be careful no pin is bent or broken and check the position and alignment from the pictures below. The yellow arrow shows how the pins must be aligned with the socket underneath:





7) Install the universal GAL chip and MCU chip (in the yellow rectangles on the picture above). Check notches match the silkscreen/original positioning.

8 ) Replace the spacers between the middle and the bottom board. 6 longer spacers are provided in the kit as few more millimetres clearance is needed once the kit in place:







9) Reassemble the stack and connect the jumpers cable to the square pins of the top board of the kit. Wires must be flat (bottom pin connected to bottom pin on the other board, etc.)


Game selection:

game ---- dip1/2/3/4

Air Duel0000
Battle Chopper (Mr Heli)1000
Dragon Breed0100
Gallop (Cosmic Cop)1100
Daiku no gensan (Hamerrin' Harry)0010
Image Fight1010
Legend of Hero Tonma0110
Ninja Spirit1110
R-Type0001
R-Type II1001
X-Multiply0101
Lightning Swords0011
Pound For Pound0111
 
Last edited:

XtraSmiley

Champion
Joined
Sep 18, 2016
Messages
2,550
Reaction score
1,375
Location
St Louis, IL
Maybe someone, like done for STV, can make an LCD instead of jumper selector
Good idea, and maybe as a cost saver a way to use one LCD add on for multiple multis. One you can plug in as needed!

Before that though, I need my board first!!!!
 

Blackfish

Professional
Joined
Jul 5, 2017
Messages
306
Reaction score
246
Location
Auckland, NZ
I have already been looking into this. The problem is the new multi's don't have an easily accessible reset pin.

Meaning you need to cycle the power to the board. This will also drop power from the ST-V selector.

I have a few ideas around making it work but haven't got the skills at the moment and am in the process of trying to learn what I need to, to make it possible.

If someone wanted to take my idea for a generic selector based on the ST-V selector I'll talk to them about it. Otherwise you can wait a few months for me to figure it out. :D

My goal is a whole new selector that is an evolution from the ST-V Selector. But that not what I'm talking about here. That one I'll keep for myself to tinker on.
 

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
4,434
Reaction score
5,318
Location
Brisbane, Australia

rtw

Champion
Joined
Sep 28, 2015
Messages
1,238
Reaction score
1,203
Location
Norway
In a few days I will be sending the protection MCUs (i8751) for Dragon Breed and Air Duel off to get decapped and read out so we can have perfect emulation.

I urge everyone else to do the same, we are missing proper MCU dumps from several of the M72 games preventing perfect emulation.

After the code has been read out you can burn the image into a standard i8751 and your game will be fully working again!

We need dumps from the following games:

Battle Chopper (World)
Ninja Spirit (World)
Image Fight (World)
Legend of Hero Tonma (World)
Dragon Breed (M72) (World)
Daiku no Gensan
Air Duel (Japan, M72)
Gallop (Japan, M72)

If anyone wants to donate their MCU to this worthy cause PM me and we can hammer out the details.
 

rtw

Champion
Joined
Sep 28, 2015
Messages
1,238
Reaction score
1,203
Location
Norway
Can I help with my Dragon Breed, or is it the same as yours?
Maybe you can :D

Please snap a picture of your program ROM labels (h3/l3/h0/l0), if they are labeled db-c-nn you have the international version.
 

ekorz

Multi Boyz 4 Pi
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Aug 21, 2016
Messages
3,694
Reaction score
3,909
Location
Boston, MA
Not sure which image fight I have, but I’ll check to see if it’s a world region.
 
  • Like
Reactions: rtw

Apocalypse

Legendary
Joined
Dec 6, 2017
Messages
3,408
Reaction score
5,768
Location
New-Zealand
@rtw mentioned an other "bug" with the kit where a new sample wasn't played immediately when an other one was already played. (I'm using quotes cause it was the intended behaviour I initially programmed).

This "issue" is now fixed, it was a simple 2 instruction mod :D
Now a new sample stops the currently played sample and is then played immediately.

Not sure how to handle the update of the MCU for the "lucky" 3 people who have the kit in their hands.
I'd like to avoid releasing the update file publicly as it's part of the magic of the multi.

Sending the MCU chip back and forth isn't probably cost efficient, maybe it's just better I send you guys a replacement MCU.
@rtw has proposed to wait to see if any other oddity is found with the kit to avoid multiple updates which makes sense.
 

Derick2k

Immortal
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
8,113
Reaction score
6,502
Location
NYC, USA
@rtw mentioned an other "bug" with the kit where a new sample wasn't played immediately when an other one was already played. (I'm using quotes cause it was the intended behaviour I initially programmed).

This "issue" is now fixed, it was a simple 2 instruction mod :D
Now a new sample stops the currently played sample and is then played immediately.

Not sure how to handle the update of the MCU for the "lucky" 3 people who have the kit in their hands.
I'd like to avoid releasing the update file publicly as it's part of the magic of the multi.

Sending the MCU chip back and forth isn't probably cost efficient, maybe it's just better I send you guys a replacement MCU.
@rtw has proposed to wait to see if any other oddity is found with the kit to avoid multiple updates which makes sense.
Fine with waiting for replacement MCU
 

ekorz

Multi Boyz 4 Pi
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Aug 21, 2016
Messages
3,694
Reaction score
3,909
Location
Boston, MA
@rtw could you take a look and let me know what else I can photograph or dump? My image fight is a conversion, I forgot. But it’s running on a Gallop rom board it seems. But could you identify the base board? Is it the JP one you need?

https://imgur.com/a/OccZIzr
 

rtw

Champion
Joined
Sep 28, 2015
Messages
1,238
Reaction score
1,203
Location
Norway
@rtw could you take a look and let me know what else I can photograph or dump? My image fight is a conversion, I forgot. But it’s running on a Gallop rom board it seems. But could you identify the base board? Is it the JP one you need?

https://imgur.com/a/OccZIzr
I am travelling so I will have to take a look when I get home in a few days.
 

rtw

Champion
Joined
Sep 28, 2015
Messages
1,238
Reaction score
1,203
Location
Norway
@ekorz I could have sworn I posted this, but can you please dump EPROM IF-C-H0- at location: H6 ?
 

ekorz

Multi Boyz 4 Pi
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Aug 21, 2016
Messages
3,694
Reaction score
3,909
Location
Boston, MA
@ekorz I could have sworn I posted this, but can you please dump EPROM IF-C-H0- at location: H6 ?
mame -romident finds it as "if-c-h0.bin imgfightj Image Fight (Japan)". I probably don't need to upload it, yeah?
 
Top