What's new

XtraSmiley

Champion
Joined
Sep 18, 2016
Messages
2,930
Reaction score
1,821
Location
Washington, DC
Really these new memory modules are fantastic, I hope we don’t have to use 27c322 ever again for so many reasons.
It's an interesting thought, I mean, why not move right into SD card territory?
 

ekorz

Multi Boyz 4 Pi
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Aug 21, 2016
Messages
4,125
Reaction score
4,745
Location
Boston, MA
why not move right into SD card territory?
I'm sure a maker can respond but I'm under the impression using memory-only + dips for a multi is much simpler/faster to design, vs doing all the multi hardware work PLUS adding hardware to bus data from SD to memory-modules PLUS add software for SD reading/GUI. So less hardware, and no need to write/debug/update any firmware.
 
A

Apocalypse

Will this use the same EPROMs as the S16 multi? If so, I need to source some again...
Nope, games size would require tons of those EPROMs.
Really these new memory modules are fantastic, I hope we don’t have to use 27c322 ever again for so many reasons.
Here size needed makes old EPROMs unrealistic to use due to the high number required.
Plus those flashes are a current product, fast to write, easy to erase (no need for extra hardware).
But they do require level shifters... If you do things properly. :evil:
It's an interesting thought, I mean, why not move right into SD card territory?
I personally don't like to wait a game to load from the SD to flash, and given the relatively affordable price of flash memory today all games can be permanently written.
I though of the SD card approach but it would only be used one time when installing the multi.
I think an USB approach is better. But again it involves more parts, more development time, etc. for a feature you're going to use only once or twice.
 

hoagtech

Champion
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
1,241
Reaction score
1,458
Location
Bellingham WA
Edit: (solved)

I just received my Rad rally board, and its stuck on this error message on boot that says "Networking Check, This machine is Master Controller"

Anyone else come across with an S32 board?



Edit: I figured it out. Hit the service button.. Doh!

Now I can figure out how rig a steering up to my HAS. I would love to play this game. the 2D 3D racing is very smooth.

When playing with a Neogeo controller. I can only go left and crash..
 
Last edited:

Mrhide

Champion
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
951
Reaction score
1,316
Location
Montréal, Canada
I just received my Rad rally board, now I can figure out how rig a steering up to my HAS. I would love to play this game. the 2D 3D racing is very smooth.

When playing with a Neogeo controller. I can only go left and crash..

Carefull: If you do, you'll turn around and see that you now have 3 twin racers taking all the space in your basement!
 

nem

Legendary
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
4,532
Reaction score
3,904
Location
Finland
I haven't played Rad Rally, but Rad Mobile is seriously underrated. It's 100% Sega AM3 greatness (before the team was known as Sega AM3). Why it gets shit on I'll never understand. I love the beginning of the Kansas stage where the cops overtake you and try to stop you on the bridge.

(I sold my cab just a few weeks ago. Now I feel sad)
 

mthngn

Student
Joined
Oct 13, 2019
Messages
68
Reaction score
34
Location
France
I haven't played Rad Rally, but Rad Mobile is seriously underrated. It's 100% Sega AM3 greatness (before the team was known as Sega AM3). Why it gets shit on I'll never understand. I love the beginning of the Kansas stage where the cops overtake you and try to stop you on the bridge.

(I sold my cab just a few weeks ago. Now I feel sad)
Perhaps @Apocalypse will dump rad mobile from Sega Mini Astro City and it can be play also with joypad/stick 😇
 

GalileoFigaro

Beginner
Joined
Jan 19, 2021
Messages
33
Reaction score
10
Location
Spain
Edit: (solved)

I just received my Rad rally board, and its stuck on this error message on boot that says "Networking Check, This machine is Master Controller"

Anyone else come across with an S32 board?

68456-A88-3-D6-F-4303-8602-5-C3-ACE6065-CB.jpg


Edit: I figured it out. Hit the service button.. Doh!

Now I can figure out how rig a steering up to my HAS. I would love to play this game. the 2D 3D racing is very smooth.

When playing with a Neogeo controller. I can only go left and crash..
I have the same problem with Rad Mobile, i can only go left and crash. ¿how can we fixed?
 

nem

Legendary
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
4,532
Reaction score
3,904
Location
Finland
I have the same problem with Rad Mobile, i can only go left and crash. ¿how can we fixed?

You need to wire up a pot to the analog inputs. Because you have nothing there at the moment, the game is seeing 0V which is a hard left in the game.
 

GalileoFigaro

Beginner
Joined
Jan 19, 2021
Messages
33
Reaction score
10
Location
Spain
You need to wire up a pot to the analog inputs. Because you have nothing there at the moment, the game is seeing 0V which is a hard left in the game.
Do you know the resistance or the value of the potentiometer to connect? Can this same procedure be used for Out Runners and drive the vehicle correctly?
 

GalileoFigaro

Beginner
Joined
Jan 19, 2021
Messages
33
Reaction score
10
Location
Spain
OK i founded myself in the rad mobile diagram
5K ohms potenciometers for steering wheel and pedals.
 

Attachments

  • cats.jpg
    cats.jpg
    202.2 KB · Views: 19

nem

Legendary
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
4,532
Reaction score
3,904
Location
Finland
Correct. Sega uses 5K pots for everything.

It works for OutRunners too (and OutRun, Model 2 / 3, Naomi, etc).
 

Mrhide

Champion
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
951
Reaction score
1,316
Location
Montréal, Canada

nem

Legendary
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
4,532
Reaction score
3,904
Location
Finland
Pretty sure they're linear.

The pots Sega uses are stupid good though. I have original ones that have stood up for 25 years. I think they're by Matsushita?
 
Top